## §4099-H. Emergency shelter family homes for youth

This section applies to emergency shelter family homes for youths in order to provide the youths with voluntary, safe, emergency housing with individuals or families in locations as close as reasonably possible to the home communities of the youths. [PL 2011, c. 385, §1 (NEW).]

- **1. Definitions.** As used in this section, unless the context otherwise indicates, the following terms have the following meanings.
  - A. "Emergency shelter family home" means a home that provides community-based emergency shelter with an individual or a family that is operated 24 hours a day under the auspices of an emergency shelter licensed by the department in accordance with rules adopted by the department under sections 7801 and 8102. [PL 2011, c. 385, §1 (NEW).]
- B. "Youth" means a child 12 to 20 years of age. [PL 2011, c. 385, §1 (NEW).] [RR 2011, c. 1, §35 (COR).]
- **2. Placement.** A licensed emergency shelter may place in an emergency shelter family home operated by the shelter a youth who was referred to the shelter by the Department of Corrections if the shelter has obtained the agreement of the parent or legal guardian of the youth. [PL 2011, c. 385, §1 (NEW).]
- **3. Requirements.** A licensed emergency shelter that operates an emergency shelter family home must be licensed as a child placing agency by the department under rules adopted pursuant to sections 7801 and 8202 and must operate the home under a contract with the Department of Corrections and in accordance with an agreement between the department and the Department of Corrections. An emergency shelter family home may be, but is not required to be, licensed as a children's home by the department under rules adopted pursuant to sections 7801 and 8202.

[PL 2011, c. 385, §1 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

RR 2011, c. 1, §35 (COR). PL 2011, c. 385, §1 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.