## §3736. Eligibility

- 1. Single application form. By October 1, 1993, the department shall develop a universal application for all publicly funded child care programs for applicants who are seeking child care as their primary service. By January 1, 1994, the department shall require all caseworkers and contractors to use the form to determine eligibility for those applicants. Applicants submitting applications to more than one caseworker or contractor may submit photocopies or facsimile copies. [PL 2011, c. 388, §8 (AMD).]
- 2. Eligibility decision within 15 days; retroactive reimbursement. The department shall determine eligibility for child care programs administered under this chapter within 15 days of receiving a completed application. If a contractor determines eligibility, the department shall require that the contractor determine eligibility within 15 days of receiving a completed application. The department shall provide retroactive reimbursement to a child care program that provided tuition assistance to an applicant during the application period.

[PL 2023, c. 412, Pt. VVV, §2 (AMD).]

**3. Application; effective date.** If an applicant for child care programs administered under this chapter is determined eligible, child care assistance must be provided retroactively to the date of application.

[PL 2015, c. 267, Pt. RRRR, §1 (NEW).]

**4.** Changes in eligibility. The department shall notify a provider of child care services provided under this chapter within 2 business days of when a recipient's eligibility changes.

[PL 2023, c. 412, Pt. VVV, §3 (NEW).]

## **SECTION HISTORY**

PL 1993, c. 158, §2 (NEW). PL 2011, c. 388, §8 (AMD). PL 2015, c. 267, Pt. RRRR, §1 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 412, Pt. VVV, §§2, 3 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.