## §2766. Statement of birth parents' identity

A person 18 years of age or older, born and adopted in this State, may apply to the state registrar for a statement identifying that person's birth parents. The adoptee shall submit to the state registrar the following: [RR 2021, c. 2, Pt. B, §139 (COR).]

1. **Proof.** Proof that the birth parents are deceased; [PL 1983, c. 356 (NEW).]

**2.** Affidavit. An affidavit from a blood relative who is not a sibling and who is at least 10 years older than the adoptee, verifying that the adoptee lived with the birth parents for 5 years; and [PL 1983, c. 356 (NEW).]

**3. Order.** An order from the Probate Court or Superior Court authorizing the state registrar to open the original birth certificate to verify the identity of the birth parents. [PL 1983, c. 356 (NEW).]

Upon verification of the information in this section, the state registrar shall prepare a form identifying the birth parents of the adoptee. This form must be attached to the new certificate of birth established pursuant to section 2765. A copy of the form must be attached to an abstract of birth issued by the Office of Data, Research and Vital Statistics and must be provided to the adoptee. [PL 2009, c. 601, §21 (AMD).]

A statement of identification of the birth parents shall not affect the rights of inheritance and descent. The form shall contain the following words in a conspicuous place: "This statement shall not affect the rights of inheritance and descent of the adoptee." [PL 1983, c. 356 (NEW).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 1983, c. 356 (NEW). PL 2001, c. 574, §25 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 601, §21 (AMD). RR 2021, c. 2, Pt. B, §139 (COR).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.