§6804-A. Remote instruction

1. **Definitions.** For the purposes of this section, unless the context otherwise indicates, "remote instruction" means instruction provided using audio or video transmission of a teacher or of a classroom with a teacher and participating students. "Remote instruction" includes real-time transmissions and recorded sessions.

[PL 2021, c. 383, §1 (NEW).]

2. Distribution or retransmission. Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary and except as authorized by a public or private school for the purposes of remote instruction, a person may not distribute or retransmit a recorded session of remote instruction or any part thereof without the express written consent of the public or private school.

[PL 2021, c. 383, §1 (NEW).]

3. Violation. A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$200 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged.

[PL 2021, c. 383, §1 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2021, c. 383, §1 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.