## §13402. Minimum salaries

1. Minimum salary schedule.

[PL 1985, c. 505, §2 (RP).]

2. Increase.

[PL 2005, c. 635, §3 (RP).]

**3.** Substitute teachers. Substitute teachers must be compensated at the rate of not less than \$30 for each day of service. Any substitute teacher under contract with the Maine Educational Center for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing and the Governor Baxter School for the Deaf is deemed for the purposes of civil liability to be an employee of a governmental entity under the Maine Tort Claims Act. [PL 2005, c. 279, §12 (AMD).]

**4. Annuity contract premiums.** Money paid by a school administrative unit as a premium for an annuity contract for the benefit of an employee shall, for purposes of minimum salaries for teachers, be considered part of that employee's salary.

[PL 1981, c. 693, §§5, 8 (NEW).]

**5. Reimbursement for additional professional training.** When a certified teacher completes, within any 2-year period, 6 credit hours of additional professional work approved by the superintendent, the school administrative unit shall pay that teacher not less than \$100. [PL 1981, c. 693, §§5, 8 (NEW).]

**6. Permits or special licenses.** If the employment of teachers under permit or other special license is authorized by the commissioner, the commissioner may prescribe minimum salaries and other rules for this class of teachers.

[PL 1981, c. 693, §§5, 8 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1981, c. 693, §§5,8 (NEW). PL 1983, c. 520 (AMD). PL 1985, c. 505, §2 (AMD). PL 1995, c. 676, §7 (AMD). PL 1995, c. 676, §13 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 279, §12 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 635, §3 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.