Maine Revised Statutes

Title 20-A: EDUCATION
Chapter 421: POSTGRADUATE EDUCATION IN THE FIELD OF MEDICINE

§11803. AGREEMENT OF STATE CONTRACT STUDENT

1. Agreement. State contract students commencing their professional education between September 1,
1977, and June 30, 1981, shall, as a condition precedent to the commencement of that education, enter into an
agreement with the State under which the student shall agree:

A. To pay tuition to the ingtitution; [ 1981, c. 693, 885, 8 (NEW.]

B. That, on the conclusion of the student's professional education, including internship, residency and
obligated public health service and Armed Forces' service, the student shall pay the State or authority
an amount of money equal to the state capitation payment for the student position that the student
occupied. The authority may adopt or amend rules to define the conclusion of professional education;
and [ 1989, c. 698, 817 (AMD); 1989, c. 698, 876 (AFF).]

C. The payments are payable at 6% simple annual interest over a period not to exceed 10 years; however,
students may extend the repayment period by one to 10 years with the approval of the chief executive
officer for atotal repayment period not to exceed 20 years. [ 1989, c. 698, 817 (AMD);

1989, c. 698, 876 (AFF).]

[ 1989, c. 698, 8§17 (AMD); 1989, c. 698, 876 (AFF) .]

2. Forgiveness of indebtedness. The agreement must provide that 1/4 of the indebtednessis forgiven
for each year in which the state contract student practices the student's profession within the State in primary
care or other specialized areas as determined by the chief executive officer, with the advice of the Advisory
Committee on Medical Education. For other state contract students returning to practice their professionin
Maine, 1/4 of their indebtednessis forgiven for each of the first 2 years of practice.

[ 1989, c. 698, 8§17 (AMD); 1989, c. 698, §76 (AFF) .]

3. Deferment. Contract students under this section who, during the repayment period, either return to a
Maine practice and then leave the State or who initially remain outside the State and then return to aMaine
practice may seek a deferment of the annual principal and interest payments while outside the State for a
period of time not to exceed 3 years. Interest must be assessed during this time and the student's total debt to
the State, including principal and interest, must be repaid either through return service or cash payments as
established by the chief executive officer. Requests for deferments must be made to the chief executive officer
who shall make a determination on a case-by-case basis. The decision of the chief executive officer isfinal.

[ 1989, c. 698, §17 (AWMD); 1989, c. 698, §76 (AFF) .]
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