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§3-801.  Notice to creditors
1.  Notice by publication.  Unless notice has already been given under this section, a personal 

representative upon appointment shall publish a notice to creditors announcing the appointment and the 
personal representative's address and notifying creditors of the estate to present their claims within 4 
months after the date of the first publication of the notice or be forever barred.  The notice to creditors 
must be published once a week for 2 successive weeks in a newspaper of general circulation in the 
county in which the decedent was domiciled at the time of death.
[PL 2019, c. 598, §4 (AMD).]

2.  Notice by mail.  A personal representative may give written notice by mail or other delivery to 
a creditor, notifying the creditor to present the creditor's claim within 4 months after the published 
notice, if given as provided in subsection 1, or within 60 days after the mailing or other delivery of the 
notice, whichever is later, or be forever barred.  Written notice must be the notice described in 
subsection 1 or a similar notice.
[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

3.  No liability for failure to give notice.  The personal representative is not liable to a creditor or 
to a successor of the decedent for giving or failing to give notice under this section.
[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]
SECTION HISTORY
PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW). PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. F, §1 (AFF). PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, 
§14 (AFF). PL 2019, c. 598, §4 (AMD). 

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include 
the following disclaimer in your publication:
All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects 
changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The 
text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the 
Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.
The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our 
goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to 
preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the 
public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.


