## §2795. License for use of certain engines

No stationary, internal combustion or steam engine shall be erected in a town until the municipal officers have granted license therefor, designating the place where the buildings therefor shall be erected, the materials and mode of construction, the size of the boiler and furnace, and such provision as to height of chimney or flues, and protection against fire and explosion, as they judge proper for the safety of the neighborhood. Such license shall be granted on written application, recorded in the town records and a certified copy of it furnished, without charge, to the applicant.

When application is made for such license, said officers shall assign a time and place for its consideration, and give at least 14 days' public notice thereof, in such manner as they think proper, at the expense of the applicant. Any person aggrieved by the decision of the select boards of towns in granting or refusing such license may appeal therefrom within 30 days to the Superior Court held in said county, which court may appoint a committee of 3 disinterested persons, as is provided in relation to appeals from location of highways. Said committee must be sworn and shall give 14 days' notice of the time and place of their hearing to the parties interested, view the premises, hear the parties and affirm, reverse or annul the decision of said select board, and their decision is final. Pending such appeal from granting such license, the Superior Court may enjoin the erection of such building and engine. [PL 2021, c. 275, §3 (AMD).]

Any such engine erected without a license shall be deemed a common nuisance without other proof than its use.

Said officers shall have the same authority to abate and remove an engine, erected without license, as is given to the local health officer in Title 22, chapter 153.

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 2021, c. 275, §3 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.