§2264-B. Penalty options

In addition to the fines imposed in section 2264-A, subsections 1 and 1-A, the court may order a person adjudicated to have violated section 2264-A, subsection 1 or subsection 1-A to: [PL 2011, c. 208, §5 (AMD).]

- 1. Removal of litter. Remove the litter dumped in violation of section 2264-A; [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. I, §39 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
- **2.** Cost of cleanup. Pay the owner of the property treble the owner's cost of clean up or removal of the litter;

[PL 1989, c. 820, §5 (NEW).]

- **3. Damages.** Pay the person sustaining damages arising out of a violation of this subsection treble the actual damages or \$200, whichever amount is greater, plus the injured party's court costs and attorney's fees if action results in a civil proceeding; [PL 1989, c. 820, §5 (NEW).]
- **4. Public service.** Perform public service relating to the removal of litter, or to the restoration of an area polluted by litter, dumped in violation of section 2264-A; and [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. I, §39 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
- **5. License suspension.** Surrender the person's motor vehicle operator's license, a license or permit issued to that person under Title 12, Part 13, subpart 4 or a recreational vehicle registration or certificate issued to that person under Title 12, Part 13, subpart 6 for a period not exceeding 30 days. The court may suspend an operator's license for any violation of section 2264-A, subsection 1 or subsection 1-A that involves the use of a motor vehicle.

[PL 2011, c. 208, §6 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1989, c. 820, §5 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 452, §§138,39 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 452, §X2 (AFF). PL 2007, c. 651, §21 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 424, §1 (AMD). PL 2011, c. 208, §§5, 6 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.