## §1038. Animals abandoned at animal care facilities

Abandoning an animal at an animal care facility is a Class D crime. [PL 2021, c. 99, §12 (AMD).]

**1. Determination of abandonment.** There is a rebuttable presumption of abandonment if an owner:

A. Places an animal in the custody of an animal care facility for services offered by that facility; and [PL 2021, c. 99, §13 (AMD).]

B. Fails to claim the animal within 10 days after written notice is sent in accordance with subsection 2. [PL 2005, c. 422, §11 (NEW).]

[PL 2021, c. 99, §13 (AMD).]

**2. Notice requirement.** Before any animal may be considered abandoned under this section, an animal care facility shall send written notice, by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, to the owner or keeper at the owner's or keeper's last known address. Proof of attempted delivery constitutes sufficient notice.

[PL 2021, c. 99, §14 (AMD).]

**3. Ownership of abandoned animal.** When an owner or keeper fails to claim an animal within 10 days of a notice being sent under subsection 2, the animal care facility or individual who has custody and control of the animal is considered the owner of the animal and shall arrange for its care, including, but not limited to, its adoption, sale or placement with a licensed animal shelter. [PL 2021, c. 99, §15 (AMD).]

**4. Financial obligation.** The disposal of an abandoned animal under this section does not relieve the owner or keeper of the animal of any financial obligation, including, but not limited to, costs incurred for veterinary treatment, boarding, grooming or other care. [PL 2005, c. 422, §11 (NEW).]

**5. Penalty.** In addition to the penalties provided in Title 17-A for a Class D crime, the penalties in section 1031, subsection 3-B also apply. [PL 2005, c. 422, §11 (NEW).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 2005, c. 422, §11 (NEW). PL 2021, c. 99, §§12-15 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.