§855. Commercial sexual exploitation of minor or person with mental disability

1. A person is guilty of commercial sexual exploitation of a minor if:

A. The person, in return for an act of prostitution, gives, offers to give or agrees to give a pecuniary benefit either to the person being prostituted or to a 3rd person and the person being prostituted has not in fact attained 18 years of age or the person knows or believes that the person being prostituted has not attained 18 years of age. Violation of this paragraph is a Class C crime. [RR 2023, c. 1, Pt. A, §6 (COR).]

B. [PL 2021, c. 447, §3 (RP).] [RR 2023, c. 1, Pt. A, §6 (COR).]

2.

[PL 2005, c. 444, §1 (RP).]

3. A person is guilty of commercial sexual exploitation of a person with a mental disability if:

A. The person, in return for an act of prostitution, gives, offers to give or agrees to give a pecuniary benefit either to the person being prostituted or to a 3rd person and the person being prostituted suffers from a mental disability that is reasonably apparent or known to the actor and that in fact renders the person with a mental disability substantially incapable of appraising the nature of the conduct or conduct involved. Violation of this paragraph is a Class C crime. [PL 2023, c. 316, §10 (AMD).]

```
[PL 2023, c. 316, §10 (AMD).]
```

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1981, c. 245, §2 (NEW). PL 2005, c. 444, §1 (RPR). PL 2013, c. 407, §5 (AMD). PL 2021, c. 447, §§2, 3 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 316, §10 (AMD). RR 2023, c. 1, Pt. A, §6 (COR).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.