§1611. Commitments to Department of Corrections of bound-over juveniles who have not attained 18 years of age at the time of sentencing

A juvenile who has been bound over, pursuant to Title 15, section 3101, subsection 4, who is subsequently, as to the juvenile crime's adult counterpart, convicted and sentenced to a sentencing alternative involving imprisonment and who has not attained 18 years of age at the time of sentence imposition must be committed to a Department of Corrections juvenile correctional facility for an indeterminate period not to extend beyond the juvenile's 18th birthday to serve the term of imprisonment or any unsuspended portion until discharge from the juvenile correctional facility, and once discharged the juvenile must be transferred to a correctional facility in which adult individuals are confined to serve out the remainder of the imprisonment term or unsuspended portion, if any. [PL 2019, c. 113, Pt. A, §2 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2019, c. 113, Pt. A, §2 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.