§7101. Summary proceedings authorized

If an attorney-at-law receives money or any valuable thing on a claim left with him for collection or settlement and fails to account for and pay over the same to the claimant for 10 days after demand, he is guilty of a breach of duty as an attorney. Such claimant may file in the office of the clerk of the Superior Court in the county where such attorney resides, a motion in writing under oath setting forth the facts. Thereupon any Justice of the Superior Court shall issue an order requiring the attorney to appear on a day fixed and show cause why he should not so account and pay, and to abide the order of such justice in the premises, which shall be served by copy in hand at least 5 days before the return day.

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.