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Title 14: COURT PROCEDURE -- CIVIL

Chapter 710-C: DISCLOSURE OF RESIDENTIAL UTILITY COSTS

§6045. DISCLOSURE OF TRANSMISSION AND DISTRIBUTION UTILITY
COSTS

Upon request, a transmission and distribution utility, as defined in Title 35-A, section 102, shall provide
free of charge to current or prospective customers, tenants or property owners residential electric energy
consumption and cost information for a dwelling unit for the prior 12-month period or figures reflecting
the highest and lowest electric energy consumption and cost for the previous 12 months. The cost must
include and separately identify the cost of the transmission and distribution utility's services and the cost of
electricity. If a unit has been occupied for a period of less than 12 months or for any other reasons the utility
does not have information regarding electricity consumption or costs for a period of 12 months, the utility
shall estimate the unit's annual kilowatt-hour consumption or cost. The estimated cost must be based on the
applicable standard-offer service price or default service price established by the Public Utilities Commission.
Provision of this information is neither a breach of customer confidentiality nor a guarantee or contract by the
utility as to future consumption levels for or the cost of the provision of electricity to that unit. For purposes
of this section, "dwelling unit" includes mobile homes, apartments, buildings or other structures used for
human habitation. [1999, c. 657, §6 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY
1993, c. 183, §1 (NEW).  1999, c. 657, §6 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the
following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes
made through the Second Regular Session of the 127th Maine Legislature and is current through October 1, 2016. The text is subject to
change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes
Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal
is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve
the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public.
If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.

Generated
10.13.2016   |  1


