§4504. Appraisal of attached property

After the death of a defendant and before a decree of insolvency on his estate, the executor or administrator may demand of the attaching officer a certified copy of his return on the writ of attachment, with a description of the property attached, so that it may be described in the inventory of the estate subject to the attachment, and the appraisers may demand a view thereof so as to appraise it. If the officer fails to comply with either demand, he forfeits to the executor or administrator not less than \$10 nor more than \$30.

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.