## §2351. Defaulted out-of-state defendant may redeem

A defendant living out of the State, defaulted in an action without an appearance or other service than a newspaper publication, may, within 6 months after the levy of an execution on his real estate or the sale of a right of redemption, bring an action for relief from the judgment in such action, and instead of the year allowed in other cases, he may redeem from such levy or sale at any time within 3 months after the relief is denied, or after final judgment in the action if the relief is granted. If such judgment is in his favor, the amount thereof shall be allowed towards such redemption, notwithstanding a conveyance of such estate by the creditor; and if it is larger than the amount of the levy or sale, and interest, he shall have an execution for the balance.

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.