§6952-A. Trawling, seining or netting for lobster

- 1. Trawling, seining or netting for lobsters prohibited. A person may not:
- A. Fish for or take lobsters by use of a trawl, drag, dredge, seine or net; or [PL 2011, c. 266, Pt. A, §21 (AMD).]
- B. Possess any lobsters, regardless of their source, on board any boat rigged for dragging, trawling, dredging, seining or netting. [PL 2011, c. 266, Pt. A, §21 (AMD).] [PL 2011, c. 266, Pt. A, §21 (AMD).]
- **2. Exception; liberated alive.** A person does not violate this section if the lobster is immediately liberated alive in the coastal waters.

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. F, §36 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

- **3. Exceptions; boats.** This section does not apply to:
- A. A boat rigged for dragging, trawling, dredging or seining if all nets, drags and dredges are removed from the boat; or [PL 2011, c. 266, Pt. A, §22 (AMD).]
- B. A boat rigged for netting if there are no finfish taken by gill net aboard. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. F, §36 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).] [PL 2011, c. 266, Pt. A, §22 (AMD).]
- **4. Penalty for possession.** A violation of this section is a Class D crime, except that in addition to any punishment that may be imposed under Title 17-A, Part 6, the court shall impose a fine of \$500 for each violation and, in addition, a fine of \$100 for each lobster involved, up to and including the first 5, and a fine of \$200 for each lobster in excess of 5, or, if the number of lobsters cannot be determined, a fine of not less than \$1,000 or more than \$5,000.

[PL 2019, c. 113, Pt. C, §14 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 452, §F36 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 452, §X2 (AFF). PL 2009, c. 394, §14 (AMD). PL 2011, c. 266, Pt. A, §§21, 22 (AMD). PL 2013, c. 468, §42 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 113, Pt. C, §14 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.