## §6851-B. Lobster processor license

- 1. License required. A person may not engage in the activities authorized under this section without a current wholesale seafood license with a lobster permit as required under section 6851 and a current lobster processor license.
- [PL 2009, c. 523, §9 (NEW).]
- **2.** Licensed activity. A lobster processor license authorizes a person to process lobsters and lobster meat for sale in accordance with rules adopted by the commissioner, including, but not limited to, the appropriate fee for the license, which may not exceed \$750, and under the following conditions:
  - A. The lobster and lobster meat may be processed only at the fixed place of business named on the license; [PL 2009, c. 523, §9 (NEW).]
  - B. The lobster meat or lobster parts may come from only legal-sized lobsters; [PL 2009, c. 523, §9 (NEW).]
  - C. All containers in which lobster meat is packed after removal and that are to be sold, shipped or transported must be clearly labeled with the lobster processor license number of the packer; [PL 2011, c. 247, §3 (AMD).]
  - D. Records must be maintained at the fixed place of business named on the license; and [PL 2011, c. 247, §4 (AMD).]
  - E. [PL 2011, c. 247, §5 (NEW); MRSA T. 12 §6851B, sub2, ¶E (RP).]

The commissioner may grant waivers for specific lobster products not addressed in rules that are produced by holders of lobster processor licenses. Such a waiver must be in writing and must describe in detail the product that is not specified in rule.

[PL 2011, c. 247, §§3-5 (AMD).]

- **3. Exception.** A license is not required to remove lobster meat for serving in hotels and restaurants if the meat is removed from the shell in a hotel or restaurant for serving on the premises. [PL 2009, c. 523, §9 (NEW).]
- **4. License limited.** A lobster processor license authorizes activities under this section at only one fixed place of business.

[PL 2009, c. 523, §9 (NEW).]

**5. Violation.** A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$1,000 may be adjudged.

[PL 2013, c. 468, §32 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2009, c. 523, §9 (NEW). PL 2011, c. 247, §§3-5 (AMD). PL 2013, c. 468, §32 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.