## §6731. Mahogany quahogs

- **1. License required.** Except as provided in subsection 3, a person may not engage in the activities authorized under this section without a current mahogany quahog license.
- [PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §42 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]
  - **2.** Licensed activities. The holder of a mahogany quahog license may:
  - A. Fish for or take mahogany quahogs in any harvesting area indicated on the license; [PL 1989, c. 828, §2 (NEW).]
  - B. Possess or transport mahogany quahogs within the State; or [PL 2005, c. 434, §7 (AMD).]
  - C. Sell mahogany quahogs that the holder has taken to a wholesale seafood license holder certified under section 6856 or an enhanced retail certificate holder under section 6852, subsection 2-A. [PL 2011, c. 598, §32 (AMD).]

The license authorizes crew members aboard the licensee's boat to undertake these activities when engaged in dragging for mahogany quahogs if the licensee is present. [PL 2011, c. 598, §32 (AMD).]

- **3. Personal use exception.** A person may take or possess no more than 3 bushels of mahogany quahogs for personal use in one day without a license. [PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §42 (AMD); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]
- **4. Fee.** The fee for a mahogany quahog license is \$128. Fees collected pursuant to this section must be deposited in the General Fund. [PL 2009, c. 213, Pt. G, §20 (AMD).]
- **5. Conditions.** Each licensee may participate in the monitoring program established in section 6731-A within the harvest area indicated on the license. The holder of a mahogany quahog license shall comply with all other conditions of licensing established by the commissioner. [PL 1989, c. 828, §3 (NEW).]
- **6. Violation.** A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a forfeiture of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, §42 (NEW); PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. C, §1 (AFF).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 1981, c. 297, §4 (NEW). PL 1981, c. 550 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 828, §§1-3 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 390, §8 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 528, §RRR (AFF). PL 1991, c. 528, §T9 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 591, §T9 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 421, §B42 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 421, §C1 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 20, §WW16 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 434, §7 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 213, Pt. G, §20 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 217, §3 (AMD). PL 2011, c. 598, §32 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.