## §13152. License and training

- **1. License.** An operator's license is not required for the operation of an ATV, except as required by Title 29-A.
- [PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]
- **2. Training.** A person over 9 years of age and under 16 years of age must successfully complete a training program approved by the department prior to operating an ATV except on:
  - A. Land on which that person is domiciled; [PL 2005, c. 397, Pt. E, §17 (RPR).]
  - B. Land owned or leased by that person's parent or guardian; or [PL 2005, c. 397, Pt. E, §17 (RPR).]
  - C. A safety training site approved by the department. [PL 2005, c. 397, Pt. E, §17 (RPR).]

The training program must include instruction on the safe operation of ATVs, the laws pertaining to ATVs, the effect of ATVs on the environment and ways to minimize that effect, courtesy to landowners and other recreationists and landowners and other materials as determined by the department. [PL 2023, c. 228, §16 (AMD).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B401 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 695, §B10 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 695, §C1 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 397, §E17 (AMD). PL 2023, c. 228, §16 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.