## §11158. Migratory game bird certification

- 1. Certification required; exception. A person may not hunt migratory game birds unless that person is certified under this section. This section does not apply to a resident of the State who is 70 years of age or older and who is issued a complimentary license pursuant to section 10853, subsection 1
  - A. A person who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged, unless otherwise specified. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §133 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]
  - B. A person who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this Part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime. [PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §133 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

[PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §133 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 655, Pt. B, §422 (AFF).]

- **2. Eligibility.** A resident of the State or nonresident who is eligible to obtain a state hunting license is eligible to be certified to hunt migratory game birds.
- [PL 2017, c. 427, §15 (AMD); PL 2017, c. 427, §19 (AFF).]
- **3.** Certification procedure. An eligible person becomes certified to hunt migratory game birds when that person indicates on that person's hunting license at the time of purchase the intention to hunt migratory game birds during the calendar year for which the license is valid.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 414, §A2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 414, §D7 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 655, §B133 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 655, §B422 (AFF). PL 2017, c. 427, §15 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 427, §19 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.