§1661-B. Requirement for gasoline stations to post prices of fuels sold

1. Posting required. A retail seller of fuel to be used by vehicles on public highways shall make clearly visible on each pump the price of the fuel available at that pump, either by posting a sign of no less than 64 square inches or by a price reading, digital or analog, built into the pump that must reflect the actual price of the fuel pumped. The pump must have a sign of no less than 64 square inches on it if either the price on the pump differs from the price posted on the roadside sign due to a difference in grade of fuel or service or the retailer does not have a roadside sign. On multi-grade pumps, the posted price must be for the lowest priced unleaded regular gasoline. The posting must indicate the difference in price for full-service, mini-service and self-service if more than one grade of service is available at that pump.

[PL 2007, c. 86, §1 (AMD).]

- 2. Penalties. The following penalties apply to violations of this section.
- A. A person, firm, partnership or corporation who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a fine of not more than \$100 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. E, §3 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
- B. A person, firm, partnership or corporation who violates this section after having previously violated this section commits a civil violation for which a fine of not more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. E, §3 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. E, §3 (RPR); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

3. Enforcement. The Commissioner of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry shall enforce this section pursuant to Title 7, section 13.

[PL 2005, c. 512, §44 (AMD); PL 2011, c. 657, Pt. W, §6 (REV).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1989, c. 83, §2 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 452, §§E3,4 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 452, §X2 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 512, §44 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 86, §1 (AMD). PL 2011, c. 657, Pt. W, §6 (REV).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.