CHAPTER 625

VEHICLES

§3801. Vehicles, aircraft and parachutes

Whoever performs labor by himself or his employees in manufacturing or repairing the ironwork or woodwork of wagons, carts, sleighs and other vehicles, aircraft or component parts thereof, and parachutes, or so performing labor furnishes materials therefor or provides storage therefor by direction or consent of the owner thereof, shall have a lien on such vehicle, aircraft or component parts thereof, and parachutes for his reasonable charges for said labor, and for materials used in performing said labor, and for said storage, which takes precedence of all other claims and incumbrances on said vehicles, aircraft or component parts thereof, and parachutes not made to secure a similar lien, and may be enforced by attachment at any time within 90 days after such labor is performed or such materials or storage furnished and not afterwards, provided a claim for such lien is duly filed as required in section 3802. Said lien shall be dissolved if said property has actually changed ownership prior to such filing.

§3802. Filing in office of Secretary of State; inaccuracy does not invalidate lien

- 1. Filing. A lien described in section 3801 is dissolved unless the claimant files the following documents in the office of the Secretary of State within 90 days after providing the labor, storage or materials:
 - A. A financing statement in the form approved by the Secretary of State; and [PL 1999, c. 88, §1 (NEW).]
 - B. A notarized statement that includes an accurate description of the property manufactured or repaired; the name of the owner, if known; and the amount due the claimant for the labor, materials or storage, with any amount paid on account. [PL 1999, c. 88, §1 (NEW).]

[PL 1999, c. 88, §1 (NEW).]

- **2. Fees.** The fee for filing a lien under this section is the same as under Title 11, section 9-1525. [PL 1999, c. 699, Pt. D, §7 (AMD); PL 1999, c. 699, Pt. D, §30 (AFF).]
- **3. Inaccuracy.** An inaccuracy in the notarized statement does not invalidate the proceedings unless it appears that the claimant willfully overstated the amount due.

[PL 1999, c. 88, §1 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1983, c. 117 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 225 (AMD). PL 1999, c. 88, §1 (RPR). PL 1999, c. 699, §D7 (AMD). PL 1999, c. 699, §D30 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.