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An Act To Amend Maine's Abandoned Vehicle Laws

Beit enacted by the People of the State of Maine asfollows:

Sec. 1. 29-A MRSA 81851, sub-82, as enacted by PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 and affected
by Pt. B, 85, isamended to read:

2. Towed becauseillegally parked or left standing or at officer'sdiscretion. Towed
pursuant to section 2068 or 2069 or at the direction of alaw enforcement officer;

Sec. 2. 29-A MRSA 81852, asamended by PL 1999, c. 137, 81, is further amended to read:
§ 1852. Abandonment defined

For the purposes of this subchapter, avehicle is considered "abandoned"” if the owner or lienholder
doesnot retrieve it and pay all reasonable charges for towing, storing and authorized repair of the vehicle
within 147 days after the neticenotices to the owner and lienholder are sent by the Secretary of State
or 147 days after the advertisement is published as required in section 1854, subsection 4. There is a
rebuttabl e presumption that the last owner of record of a motor vehicle found abandoned as shown in the
files of the office of the Secretary of State isthe owner of the motor vehicle at the time it was abandoned
and the person who abandoned it.

Sec. 3. 29-A MRSA 81854, sub-81, asamended by PL 1999, c. 137, &1, is further amended
to read:

1. Notification in writing. The owner of the premises where an abandoned vehicle is located
or the owner's agent shall notify the Secretary of State that the owner or the owner'sagent isin possession
of an abandoned vehicle. The notification must be in writing and on a form provided by the Secretary
of State.

Sec. 4. 29-A MRSA 81854, sub-82, asamended by PL 1999, c. 137, §1, is further amended
to read:
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2. Contents of notification. This notification must include the vehicle's make, mode!, year,
body type, vehicle identification number and any registration and plates on the vehicle. This notification
also must include the date the vehicle came into possession of the owner, the owner's agent or person in
charge of the premises where the vehicleislocated, under what circumstances the vehicle came into that
person's possession and whether the vehicleis salvage.

Sec. 5. 29-A MRSA 81854, sub-84, B, as amended by PL 1999, c. 137, &1, is further
amended to read:

B. State that if the owner of the vehicle or lienholder has not properly retrieved it and paid all
reasonabl e chargesfor itstowing, storage and repair within 147 daysfrom the publication, ownership
of the vehicle wit-passpasses to the owner of the premises where the vehicle is located; and

Sec. 6. 29-A MRSA 81856, sub-81, asamended by PL 1999, c. 137, 83, is further amended
to read:

1. Evidence of compliance. A person who has complied with section 1854, subsection 4 shall
present evidence of complianceto the Secretary of Stateimmediately after the 14-day7-day notice period.
The Secretary of State may not issue aletter of ownership or certificate of title until at |east 3021 days after
the date on which the person who has possession of and control over the vehicle notified the Secretary
of State by complying with section 1854, subsections 1 and 2.

Sec. 7. 29-A MRSA 81857, asamended by PL 1999, c. 137, §3, is further amended to read:

§ 1857. Limits

If the notification to the Secretary of State required by section 1854 is made more than 307 days
after receipt of avehicle described in section 1851, the person holding the vehicle may not collect more
than 307 days of storage fees. Daily storage charges must be reasonable and total storage charges may
not exceed $600$900 for a 30-day period.

Sec. 8. 29-A MRSA 81858, asamended by PL 1995, c. 65, Pt. A, 8103 and affected by §153
and Pt. C, 8§15, isfurther amended to read:

§ 1858. Abandonment of vehicle on public way

Abandonment of avehicle on apublic way isatraffic infraction for which afine of not lessthan $250
must be assessed. A person who is found to have abandoned a vehicle under this section is responsible
for any towing or other charges that are directly related to the abandonment of the vehicle.

Sec. 9. 29-A MRSA 81861 isenacted to read:

81861. Holding vehicle and its accessories

A person holding or storing an abandoned vehicle, holding or storing a vehicle towed at the request
of the vehicle's operator, owner or owner's agent or holding or storing a vehicle stored at the request
of alaw enforcement officer may hold the vehicle and all its accessories, contents and equipment, not
including the personal effects of the registered owner, until reasonable towing and storage charges of the
person holding or storing the vehicle are paid.
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For purposes of this section, "personal effects’ includes medications, medical equipment, clothing,
mail, child safety seats and similar items. Except for child safety seats, items attached to the vehicle and

busi ness equipment, machinery and tools are not considered personal effects.

Effective September 20, 2007
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