Public Law, Chapter 695, 123rd Legislature, Second Regular Session

PLEASE NOTE: The Office of the Revisor of Statutes cannot perform research, provide
legal advice, or interpret Maine law. For legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.

Public Law
123rd Legislature
Second Regular Session

Chapter 695
H.P. 1615 - L.D. 2252

An Act To Correct Errors and Inconsistencies in the Laws of Maine

Emer gency preamble. Wher eas, acts and resolves of the L egislature do not become effective
until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies,; and

Whereas, acts of this and previous Legislatures have resulted in certain technical errors and
inconsistencies in the laws of Maine; and

Whereas, these errors and inconsistencies creste uncertainties and confusion in interpreting
legidative intent; and

Wher eas, itisvitally necessary that these uncertainties and this confusion be resolved in order to
prevent any injustice or hardship to the citizens of Maine; and

Wher eas, inthejudgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within the meaning
of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as immediately necessary for the
preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, therefore,

Beit enacted by the People of the State of Maine asfollows:
PART A

Sec. A-1. 1 MRSA 8150, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 28, 81, isreallocated to 1 MRSA §150-B.
Sec. A-2. 1 MRSA 8353, asamended by PL 2005, c. 316, 81, is further amended to read:

§ 353. Explanation of proposed amendments and statewide referenda

With the assistance of the Secretary of State, the Attorney General shall prepare abrief explanatory
statement that must fairly describe the intent and content and what a "yes' vote favors and a "'no" vote
opposes for each constitutional resolution or statewide referendum that may be presented to the people
and that must include any information prepared by the Treasurer of State under Title 5, section 152. The
explanatory statement may not include comments of proponents or opponents as provided by section
354. In addition to the explanatory statement, beginning with the November 2006 election the Office of
Fiscal and Program Review shall prepare an estimate of the fiscal impact of each constitutional resolution
or statewide referendum on state revenues, appropriations and allocations within 30 days after the
adjournment of the legislative session immediately prior to the statewide el ection when the constitutional

resolution or referendum will appear on the baFI)Iot. l'I'he fiscal impact estimate must summarize the
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aggregate impact that the constitutional resolution or referendum will have on the Genera Fund, the
Highway Fund, Other Special Revenue Funds and the amounts distributed by the statesState to local units
of government. The Secretary of State shall publish the explanatory statement and the fiscal estimate in
each daily newspaper of the State, not more than 10 and not less than 7 days prior to the voting. This
information may be published in the English language in a foreign language newspaper.

Sec. A-3. 1 MRSA 8535, sub-83, 1A, asamended by PL 2003, c. 681, 81, isfurther amended
to read:

A. Negotiate and enter into contracts for professional consulting, research and other services; and

Sec. A-4. 1 MRSA 8535, sub-83, B, asamended by PL 2003, c. 681, §1, isfurther amended
to read:

B. To the extent permitted by the service level agreement between the network manager and the
data custodian, have accessto confidential information if it is necessary to carry out the duties of the
network manager or the purposes of InforM E. The network manager issubject to the samelimitations
and penalties as adata custodian concerning the use and disclosure of confidential information;-and.

Sec. A-5. 2 MRSA 86, sub-84, asamended by PL 2007, c. 240, Pt. HH, 81 and c. 273, Pt. B,
82 and affected by 87, isrepeaed and the following enacted in its place:

4. Range 88. The salaries of the following state officials and employees are within salary
range 88:
Director, Bureau of Air Quality;

Director, Bureau of Land and Water Quality;

Director, Bureau of Remediation and Waste M anagement;

Deputy Commissioner, Environmental Protection;

Director, Office of Licensing and Reqistration;
Administrator, Office of Securities; and
Deputy Chief of the State Police.

Sec. A-6. 3MRSA 8959, sub-81, 1[I, asamended by PL 2003, c. 600, §1, is further amended
to read:

I. Thejoint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over labor matters shall use
the following list as a guideline for scheduling reviews:

(1) Maine StatePublic Employees Retirement System in 20052013;

(2) Department of Labor in 2007,

(3) Maine Labor Relations Board in 2009; and

(4) Workers' Compensation Board in 2009.
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Sec. A-7. 5 MRSA 84613, sub-82, B, asamended by PL 2007, c. 243, §8 and c. 457, 81,
is repealed and the following enacted in its place:

B. If thecourt findsthat unlawful discrimination occurred, itsjudgment must specify an appropriate
remedy or remedies for that discrimination. The remedies may include, but are not limited to:

(1) An order to cease and desist from the unlawful practices specified in the order;

(2) An order to employ or reinstate a victim of unlawful employment discrimination, with or
without back pay;

(3) An order to accept or reinstate such a person in a union;

(4) An order to rent or sell a specified housing accommodation, or one substantially identical
to that accommodation if controlled by the respondent, to a victim of unlawful housing
discrimination;

(5) An order requiring the disclosure of the locations and descriptions of all housing
accommodations that the violator has the right to sell, rent, lease or manage and forbidding
the sale, rental or lease of those housing accommodations until the violator has given security
to ensure compliance with any order entered against the violator and with al provisions of
this Act. An order may continue the court's jurisdiction until the violator has demonstrated
compliance and may defer decision on some or all relief until after a probationary period and
afurther hearing on the violator's conduct during that period:;

(6) An order to pay the victim, in cases of unlawful price discrimination, 3 times the amount
of any excessive price demanded and paid by reason of that unlawful discrimination;

(7) An order to pay to the victim of unlawful discrimination, other than employment
discrimination in the case of a respondent who has more than 14 employees, or, if the
commission brings action on behalf of the victim, an order to pay to the victim, the commission
or both, civil pena damages not in excess of $20,000 in the case of the first order under this
Act against the respondent, not in excess of $50,000 in the case of a 2nd order against the
respondent arising under the same subchapter of this Act and not in excess of $100,000 in the
case of a 3rd or subsequent order against the respondent arising under the same subchapter of
this Act, except that the total amount of civil penal damages awarded in any action filed under
this Act may not exceed the limits contained in this subparagraph;

(8) In cases of intentional employment discrimination with respondents who have more than
14 employees, compensatory and punitive damages as provided in this subparagraph.
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(@) In an action brought by a complaining party under section 4612 and this section
against arespondent who engaged in unlawful intentional discrimination prohibited under
sections 4571 to 4575, if the complaining party can not recover under 42 United States
Code, Section 1981 (1994), the complaining party may recover compensatory and punitive
damages as allowed in this subparagraph in addition to any relief authorized elsewherein
this subsection from the respondent.

(b) When adiscriminatory practiceinvolvesthe provision of areasonable accommodation,
damages may not be awarded under this subparagraph when the covered entity
demonstrates good faith efforts, in consultation with the person with the disability who
has informed the covered entity that accommodation is needed, to identify and make a
reasonable accommodation that would provide that individual with an equally effective
opportunity and would not cause an undue hardship on the operation of the business.

(c) A complaining party may recover punitive damages under this subparagraph against
a respondent if the complaining party demonstrates that the respondent engaged in
a discriminatory practice or discriminatory practices with malice or with reckless
indifference to the rights of an aggrieved individual protected by this Act.

(d) Compensatory damages awarded under this subparagraph do not include back pay,
interest on back pay or any other type of relief authorized el sewhere under this subsection.

(e) The sum of compensatory damages awarded under this subparagraph for future
pecuniary losses, emotional pain, suffering, inconvenience, mental anguish, loss of
enjoyment of life, other nonpecuniary losses and the amount of punitive damages awarded
under this section may not exceed for each complaining party:

(i) In the case of arespondent who has morethan 14 and fewer than 101 employeesin
each of 20 or more calendar weeksin the current or preceding calendar year, $50,000;

(i1) In the case of arespondent who has more than 100 and fewer than 201 employees
in each of 20 or more calendar weeks in the current or preceding calendar year,
$100,000;

(iii) In the case of arespondent who has more than 200 and fewer than 501 employees
in each of 20 or more calendar weeks in the current or preceding calendar year,
$300,000; and

(iv) In the case of arespondent who has more than 500 employees in each of 20 or
more calendar weeks in the current or preceding calendar year, $500,000.
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(f) Nothing in this subparagraph may be construed to limit the scope of, or the relief
available under, 42 United States Code, Section 1981 (1994).

(g) If a complaining party seeks compensatory or punitive damages under this
subparagraph, any party may demand atrial by jury, and the court may not inform thejury
of the limitations described in division (e).

(h) This subparagraph does not apply to recoveries for a practice that is unlawful only
because of its disparate impact.

(1) Punitive damages may not be included in ajudgment or award against a governmental
entity, as defined in Title 14, section 8102, subsection 2, or against an employee of a
governmental entity based on aclaim that arises out of an act or omission occurring within
the course or scope of that employee's employment; and

(9) In addition to other remedies in subparagraphs (1) to (8), an order to pay actual damagesin
the case of discriminatory housing practices. This subparagraph is not intended to limit actual
damages available to a plaintiff alleging other discrimination if the remedy of actual damages
is otherwise available under this Act;

Sec. A-8. 5 MRSA 812004-1, sub-83-D, as enacted by PL 2007, c. 146, 81, is amended
to read:

3-D.
Conservation
Expenses/ 12 MRSA
Legislative per diem §189181890-A
Allagash

Wilderness

Waterway Advisory

Council

Sec. A-9. 5 MRSA 818306-A, sub-81, D, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 137, §21, is amended
to read:

D. Except when inclusion of a portion of employer contributions is required by subsection
Bparagraph E, only accumulated contributions made by the member or picked up by the employer
may be refunded to that member under this section; and

Sec. A-10. 9 MRSA 85017, first ], asrepealed and replaced by PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. A, §10,
Is amended to read:

The commissioner may deny alicense, refuse to renew alicense or impose the disciplinary sanctions
authorized under Title 10, section 8003, subsection 5-A for any of the reasons enumerated in Title 10,
section 8003, subsection 5-A, paragraph A.

Sec. A-11. 12 MRSA 8685-A, Sub-§]FQig;T§, as enacted by PL 2001, c. 105, 81, is amended
to read:
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B. The access and use needs of a person with a physical disability as defineddescribed in Title
5, section 45534553-A, subsection 7-B1, paragraphs C and D who resides in or regularly uses a
structure; or

Sec. A-12. 12 MRSA 81891, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 146, 83, is reallocated to 12 MRSA
81890-A.

Sec. A-13. 12 MRSA 81891-A, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 146, 84, isreallocated to 12 MRSA
81890-B.

Sec. A-14. 12 MRSA 8§81891-B, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 146, 85, isreallocated to 12 MRSA
§1890-C.

Sec. A-15. 12 MRSA 86434, sub-84, asamended by PL 2007, c. 201, §15 and c. 283, §3,
is repealed and the following enacted in its place:

4. Restitution. If the holder of alobster and crab fishing license or a nonresident lobster and
crab landing permit violates this section by cutting alobster trap line, the court shall:

A. Order that person to pay to the owner of the trap line that was cut an amount equal to twice the
replacement value of all traps lost as aresult of that cutting; and

B. Direct that person to provide proof of payment of that restitution to the commissioner asrequired
by section 6402, subsection 1.

Restitution imposed under this subsection isin addition to any penalty imposed under subsection 3-A.

Sec. A-16. 12 MRSA 811224, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 454, 81, is reallocated to 12 MRSA
811226.

Sec. A-17. 13-B MRSA 81401, sub-835, as amended by PL 2007, c. 231, §18 and c. 323,
Pt. B, 834 and affected by c. 323, Pt. G, 84, is repealed and the following enacted in its place:

35. Reinstatement fee after administrative dissolution of domestic or foreign
corporation. For failure to file an annual report, $25 for each period of delinquency: for failure to
pay the annual report late filing penaty, $25; for failure to appoint or maintain a registered agent, $25;
for failure to notify the Secretary of State that its registered agent or the address of the registered agent
has been changed or that its registered agent has resigned, $25; and for filing false information, $25; and

Sec. A-18. Effective date. That section of this Act that repeals and replaces the Maine Revised
Statutes, Title 13-B, section 1401, subsection 35 takes effect July 1, 2008.

Sec. A-19. 15 MRSA 83314, sub-82, asamended by PL 2007, c. 96, §6, is further amended
to read:

2. Suspended disposition. The court may impose any of the dispositional alternatives provided
in subsection 1 and may suspend its disposition and place the juvenile on a specified period of probation
that issubject to such provisionsof Title17-A, section 1204 asthe court may order and that isadministered
pursuant to the provisions of Title 34-A, chapter 5, subchapter 4, except that the court may not impose
the condition set out in Title 17-A, section 1204, subsection 1-A. The court may impose as a condition of
probation that a juvenile must reside outside the juvenile's home in a setting satisfactory to the juvenile

community corrections officer if the court determFEnes ghat reasonabl e efforts have been made to prevent
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or eliminate the need for removal of the juvenile from the juvenile's home or that no reasonable efforts
are necessary because of the existence of an aggravating factor as defined in Title 22, section 4002,
subsection 1-B, and that continuation in the juvenile's home would be contrary to the welfare of the
juvenile. Imposition of such a condition does not affect the legal custody of the juvenile.

Modification of probationisgoverned by the procedurescontained in Title 17-A, section 1202, subsection
2. Termination of probation is governed by the procedures contained in Title 17-A, section 1202,
subsection 3. Revocation of probation is governed by the procedures contained in Title 17-A, sections
1205, 1205-B, 1205-C and 1206, except that this subsection governsthe court's determinations concerning
probabl e cause and continued detention and those provisions of Title 17-A, section 1206, subsection 7-A
allowing avacating of part of the suspension of execution apply only to asuspended fine under subsection
1, paragraph G or asuspended period of confinement under paragraph H. A suspended commitment under
subsection 1, paragraph F may be modified to a disposition under subsection 1, paragraph H. When a
revocation of probation results in the imposition of a disposition under subsection 1, paragraph F or a
period of confinement under subsection 1, paragraph H, the court shall determine whether reasonable
efforts have been made to prevent or eliminate the need for removal of the juvenile from the juvenile's
home or that no reasonable efforts are necessary because of the existence of an aggravating factor
as defined in Title 22, section 4002, subsection 1-B and whether continuation in the juvenile's home
would be contrary to the welfare of the juvenile. This determination does not affect whether the court
orders a particular disposition upon a revocation of probation. If the juvenile is being detained for an
alleged violation of probation, the court shall review within 48 hours following the detention, excluding
Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays, the decision to detain the juvenile. Following that review, the
court shall order the juvenile's release unless the court finds that there is probable cause to believe
that the juvenile has violated a condition of probation and finds, by a preponderance of the evidence,
that continued detention is necessary to meet one of the purposes of detention under section 3203-A,
subsection 4, paragraph C. When a court orders continued detention, the court shall determine whether
reasonabl e efforts have been made to prevent or eliminate the need for removal of the juvenile from the
juvenile's home or that no reasonable efforts are necessary because of the existence of an aggravating
factor as defined in Title 22, section 4002, subsection 1-B and whether continuation in the juvenile's
home would be contrary to the welfare of the juvenile. This determination does not affect whether the
court orders continued detention.

Sec. A-20. 17-A MRSA 81110, sub-81-C, as enacted by PL 2007, c. 346, Pt. B, 83, is
amended to read:

1-C. It is an affirmative defense to prosecution under sectionsubsection 1-A that the person
furnishing the hypodermic apparatuses is enrolled in a hypodermic apparatus exchange program that
is certified by the Department of Health and Human Services, Maine Center for Disease Control and
Prevention and is furnishing the hypodermic apparatuses to an employee of such a program.

Sec. A-21. 20-A MRSA 8401, sub-81, asamended by PL 2007, c. 200, §1 and repealed and
replaced by c. 466, Pt. B, 814 and affected by 815, is repealed and the following enacted in its place:

1. Appointment.  The state board consists of 9 members and, beginning in the 2007-2008
school year, 2 nonvoting student members, one junior and one senior in high school. All members are
appointed by the Governor. Four members must reside in the State's First Congressional District at the
time of appointment, 4 members must reside in the State's Second Congressional District at the time
of appointment and one member may reside in either the First Congressional District or the Second
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Congressional District at the time of appointment. One of the student members must reside in the State's
First Congressional District at the time of appointment and the other student member must reside in the
State's Second Congressional District at the time of appointment. Each appointment is subject to review
by the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over education matters and to
confirmation by the Senate.

Sec. A-22. 20-A MRSA 81506, sub-84, as enacted by PL 2007, c. 240, Pt. XXXX, 8§13,
is amended to read:

4. Debt of original education units.  After July 1, 2008, for each original education unit
with existing debt that has reorganized into a new unit, if the new unit has not agreed to assume liability
to pay that existing debt, the regional school unit board shall serve as agent for purposes of that existing
debt and has full authority to:

A. Sue and be sued in the name of the original education unit with respect to the existing debt;
B. Determine the debt service due each fiscal year on any existing debt;

C. As applicable, allocate to each member of the original education unit the member's share of the
annual debt service for the existing debt of the original education unit in addition to each member's
share of costs of the new unit;

D. Collect the allocation for debt service on the existing debt from the original education unit or,
as applicable, from each member of the original education unit in addition to each member's share
of costs of the new unit;

E. Pay the debt service on the existing debt of the original education unit when due; and

F. Take all other actions necessary and proper with respect to the existing debt.

Allocations between members of the original education unit to pay the debt service for the existing debt
must be made on the basis of the cost-sharing formula of the original education unit in effect on July 1,
2007, as applied to the year of alocation. In the case of state-subsidized debt service, the provisions of
subsection 3 apply. Amounts to pay the debt service on the existing debt of the original education units
must be included in the budget that the regional school unit board of anew unit submits for approval. If
the original education unit is divided between different new unitsthat have not agreed to assume liability
to pay the existing debt, the commissioner shall require that the reorganization plan of one of those new
units provide for that new unit to serve as agent for purposes of the existing debt of the original education
unit. That new unit, as agent, has the authority provided by this subsection, except that the new unit shall
notify the other new units containing members of the original education unit of the amounts they must
assess and collect from their members who were members of the original education unit, and those other
new units shall perform the functions in subsection4; paragraphs C and D with respect to their members,
and shall pay the appropriate amounts over to the new unit serving as agent.

Sec. A-23. 20-A MRSA 815696, sub-81, A, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 240, Pt. XXXX,
833, is amended to read:

A. The school administrative unit is eligible for only 50% of the minimum state allocation under
Title 20-A; section 15689, subsection 1;

Sec. A-24. 21-A MRSA 81018, asamgndeg by PL 2007, c. 443, Pt. A, 8§19, isrepealed.
age
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Sec. A-25. 22 MRSA 82685, sub-82, 1B, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 327, &1, is amended
to read:

B. "Carrier" has the same meaning asin Title 24-A, section 4301-A, sectionsubsection 3.

Sec. A-26.22 M RSA 88702, sub-88-B, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 136, §1, isamended to read:

8-B. Pharmacy benefits manager. "Pharmacy benefits manager" means an entity that
performs pharmacy benefits management as defined in section 2699, subsection 1, paragraph E.

Sec. A-27. 22 MRSA 88702, sub-811, asamended by PL 2007, c. 136, §1 and c. 240, Pt.
VV, 82, isrepeaed and the following enacted in its place:

11. Third-party payor. "Third-party payor" means a health insurer, carrier, including a
carrier that provides only administrative services for plan sponsors, nonprofit hospital, medical services
organization or managed care organization licensed in the State. "Third-party payor" does not include
carriers licensed to issue limited benefit health policies or accident, specified disease, vision, disability,
long-term care or nursing home care policies.

Sec. A-28. 22 MRSA 88824, sub-81-A, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 450, Pt. A, §8, isamended
to read:

1-A. Referral to Child Development Services System. The department shall adopt rules
according to which it shall in atimely fashion refer children identified in subsection 1 as having a high
likelihood of having a hearing impairment to the Child Development Services System. The rules must
also describe the timetables under which the department shall refer to the Child Development Services
System children identified by the department in accordance with subsection 1 as having possible hearing
impairment but for whom hearing impairment has been neither confirmed nor disconfirmed by 6 months
of age. The Department of Education and the Department of Health and Human Services shall execute
an interagency agreement under-section-7213 to facilitate the referrals in this subsection. In accordance
with the interagency agreement, the Department of Education shall offer a single point of contact for
the Department of Health and Human Services to use in making referrals. Also in accordance with
the interagency agreement, the Child Development Services System may make direct contact with the
familieswho are referred. The referrals may take place electronically. For purposes of quality assurance
and improvement, the Child Development Services System shall supply to the Department of Health and
Human Services aggregate data at |east annually on the number of children referred under this subsection
who are found eligible for early intervention services and on the number of children found not eligible
for early intervention services.

Sec. A-29. 24-A MRSA 82847-M, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 452, §3, isreallocated to 24-A
MRSA 8§2847-0.

Sec. A-30. 24-A MRSA 84253, as enacted by PL 2007, c. 452, 84, is reallocated to 24-A
MRSA 8§4255.

Sec. A-31. 25 MRSA 82001, asamended by PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. B, §836 and 37 and affected
by c. 614, 89 and repealed by c. 452, Pt. N, 81 and affected by Pt. X, 82, isrepealed.

Sec. A-32. 26 MRSA 82171-A, sub-82, asenacted by PL 2003, c. 114, 819, is amended
to read:
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2.Maine Conservation Cor ps. TheMaine Conservation Corpsunder Title 12, chapter 34220,
subchapter 6-A.

Sec. A-33. 29-A MRSA 8468, sub-86, as amended by PL 2007, c. 240, Pt. LLLL, 83, is
further amended to read:

6. Numbering, lettering and duplicate plates. Except asprovided in section 465-C456-C,
the Secretary of State shall issueaspecialty licenseplatein a3-number and 3-letter combination sequence.
Vanity plates may not duplicate vanity platesissued in another class of plate.

Sec. A-34. 29-A MRSA 81972, sub-81, as enacted by PL 2005, c. 544, §1, is amended to
read:

1. Owner ship; access. Data described in section 25611971, subsection 1 that are recorded on
an event data recorder may not be downloaded or otherwise retrieved by a person other than the owner
of the motor vehicle at the time the data are accessed, except under the following circumstances.

A. The owner of the motor vehicle or the owner's agent or legal representative consents to the
retrieval of the information;

B. A court of competent jurisdiction in this State orders the production of the data;

C. For purposes of improving motor vehicle safety, security or traffic management, including
medical research on the human body's reaction to motor vehicle crashes, as long as the identity of
the owner or driver is not disclosed in connection with that retrieved data. For the purposes of this
paragraph, the disclosure of the vehicle identification number with the last 4 digits deleted does not
constitute the disclosure of the identity of the owner or driver;

D. Thedataare retrieved by alicensed motor vehicle dealer or by an automotive technician for the
purpose of diagnosing, servicing or repairing the motor vehicle;

E. The data are retrieved for the purpose of determining the need for or facilitating emergency
medical response in the event of a motor vehicle crash;

F. Thedataareretrieved by alaw enforcement officer acting pursuant to authority recognized under
applicable statutory or constitutional law; or

G. The data are requested as part of routine civil or criminal discovery.

Sec. A-35. 30-A MRSA 84211, sub-84, asenacted by PL 1987, c. 737, Pt. A, §2 and Pt. C,
8106 and amended by PL 1989, c. 6; c. 9, 82; and c. 104, Pt. C, 888 and 10, is further amended to read:

4. Enforcement and penalty. Any person who violates this section shaltmust be penalized
in accordance with section 45064452. The municipality or the department may seek to enjoin violations
of this section.

Sec. A-36. 32 MRSA 81202, sub-81, YA, asamended by PL 2007, c. 398, §1 and c. 402,
Pt. 1, 812, isrepealed and the following enacted in its place:

A. For ajourneyman electrician's license, a person must:
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(1) Complete at least 8,000 hours of service as an apprentice or helper electrician or
at least 8,000 hours of experience in electrical installations, as defined in section 1101,
and satisfactorily complete a program of study comprising 576 hours as approved by the
Electricians Examining Board or from an accredited institution. The 576 hours shall consist
of 225 hours of required study, including an approved course of not less than 45 hours in the
current National Electrical Code; and 351 hours of e ective study, comprised of all trade-related
electives or 225 hours of trade-related courses and 135 hours of degree-related courses,

(2) Be a graduate of an accredited regional applied technology high school 2-year electrical
program, have worked for 8,000 hours in the field of electrical installations under the
supervision of a master electrician or the equivalent and have completed a course of not less
than 45 hoursin the current National Electrical Code, the course to be approved by the board;

(3) Be a graduate of an accredited community college electrical program or a
vocational-€l ectrical program of the Department of Corrections, have worked for 4,000 hoursin
thefield of electrical installations under the supervision of amaster electrician or the equivalent
and have completed a course of not less than 45 hours in the current National Electrical
Code, the course to be approved by the board. Persons qualifying under this paragraph may
sit for the journeyman's examination upon graduation if application is made within one year
of graduation; or

(4) Be an electrical apprentice registered with the State Apprenticeship and Training Council
and have completed 576 hours of related instruction, as defined in this paragraph, prescribed in
their apprenticeship program, the 8,000-hour approved program and acourse of not lessthan 45
hours in the current National Electrical Code, the course to be approved by the board. Persons
qualifying under this paragraph may sit for the journeyman's examination after compl etion of
the 576 hours of instruction if application is made within one year of the completion of the
instruction.

Sec. A-37. 32 MRSA 812228, asamended by PL 2007, c. 384, 883to 8 and c. 402, Pt. Z, 8§11,
is repealed and the following enacted in its place:

§ 12228. Certified public accountants; qualifications

1. Certificategrant. Theboard shall grant the certificate of "certified public accountant” to
any person who makes application to the board and who meets the good character, education, examination
and experience requirements of this section, and who pays the fees as set under section 12203, except
that no certificate may be granted to a person holding a valid certificate issued by another state.

2. Good character. "Good character" for the purposes of this section means lack of a history
of dishonest or felonious acts. The board may refuse to grant a certificate on the ground of failure to
satisfy this requirement only if thereisasubstantial connection between the lack of good character of the
applicant and the professional responsibilities of alicensee and if the finding by the board of lack of good
character is supported by clear and convincing evidence. When an applicant is found to be unqualified
for a certificate because of alack of good character, the board shall furnish the applicant a statement
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containing the findings of the board, a complete record of the evidence upon which the determination
was based and a notice of the applicant's right of appea under the Maine Administrative Procedure Act,
Title 5, chapter 375.

3. Education requirement. The education requirement for a certificate is as follows:

B. At least 150 semester hours of education, including a minimum 4-year baccalaureate or higher
degree conferred by a college or university acceptable to the board, the total educational program
to include basic courses in accounting and auditing determined to be appropriate under board rules.
Rules adopted by the board pursuant to this paragraph are routine technical rules as defined in Title
5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A; and

C. An examination applicant who expects to complete a minimum 4-year baccalaureate or higher
degree required in paragraph B within 120 days following the examination is eligible to take the
examination. Grades may not be released, nor may credit for the examination or any part of the
examination be given to the applicant unless the degree required in paragraph B is completed within
120 days following the examination or within such time as the board in its sole discretion may
determine.

4. Examination. An applicant isrequired to pass an examination approved by the board to test
the applicant's knowledge of the subjects of accounting and auditing and such other related subjects as
the board may specify by rule in order to qualify for a certificate. Rules adopted pursuant to this section
are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A. The board may make the
use of al or any part of the Uniform Certified Public Accountant Examination and the Advisory Grading
Service of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants or any other examination approved by
the board and may contract with 3rd parties to perform such administrative services with respect to the
examination as it considers appropriate to assist it in performing its duties under this section.

6. Examination; credits. An applicant must be given credit for any and all parts of
an examination passed in another state if that credit would have been given, under then applicable
requirements, if the applicant had taken the examination in this State.

7. Waiver. The board may, in particular cases, waive or defer any of the requirements of
subsection 6 regarding the circumstancesin which the various sections of the examination must be passed
upon a showing that, by reason of circumstances beyond the applicant's control, the applicant was unable
to meet that requirement.

9. Out-of-state examination. An applicant who has been given credit for any or all parts of
an examination passed in another state as provided in subsection 6 must pay the fee as set under section
12203.

10. Experience. For initial issuance of a certificate under this subsection, an applicant shall
demonstrate 2 years of experience under the direction of a certified public accountant licensed by any
state or territory of the United States or equivalent direction, as determined by the board, by alicensed
professional in another country and must meet the other requirements prescribed by the board by rule.
The applicant's experience must include the use of accounting or auditing skills, including the issuance of
reports on financial statements, and at |east one of the following: the provision of management advisory,
financial advisory or consulting services; the preparation of tax returns; the furnishing of advice on

tax matters; or equivalent activities defined by the board by rule. Board rules adopted pursuant to this
Page 12




Public Law, Chapter 695, 123rd Legislature, Second Regular Session

subsection are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A. To the extent
the applicant's experience is as a revenue agent or in a Similar position engaged in the examination of
persona and corporate income tax returns for the Bureau of Revenue Services, the applicant receives
credit at the rate of 50% toward the experience required by this subsection. To the extent the applicant's
experienceisasan examiner engaged in financial examinationsfor the Bureau of 1nsurance, the applicant
receives credit under this subsection if that experience meets the following standards.

A. Examinations are performed in conformity with the Examiners Handbook published by the
National Association of Insurance Commissioners or its successor or other organization approved

by the board:;

B. Working papers prepared by the examiners are in conformity with generally accepted auditing
standards and are subject to areview by a supervisor who must be a certified public accountant;

C. Written reports of examination are prepared in conformity with the Examiners Handbook
published by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners or its successor or other
organization approved by the board. All examiners working on the examinations must participate
in the preparation of the report;

D. Reports of examination are prepared in accordance with statutory accounting principles.
All examiners working on the examinations must participate in the preparation of the financial
statements and corresponding note disclosures; and

E. All examinersassigned to an examination must participate in the planning of the examination and
the planning phase conforms to the Examiners Handbook published by the National Association of
I nsurance Commissioners or its successor or other organization approved by the board and generally
accepted auditing standards.

11. Board discretion. The members of the board have the full and sole responsibility for the
determination of the gualifications of applicants for the certificate of "certified public accountant." Only
persons recommended by the board may be granted the certificate of "certified public accountant.”

Sec. A-38. 32 MRSA 812252, asamended by PL 2007, c. 384, §811 to 13 and c. 402, Pt. Z,
817, isrepealed and the following enacted in its place:

8 12252. Licenses; firms

1. Permitsgranted. Theboardshall grant or renew alicenseto firmsthat make application, pay
the fee as set under section 12203 and demonstrate their qualifications in accordance with this section.

A. A firm must hold alicense issued under this section if it:

(1) Has an office in this State performing any of the services described in section 12201,
subsection 3-A, paragraphs A to D;

(2) Has an officein this State that uses the title "CPA" or "CPA firm"; or
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(3) Does not have an office in this State but performs any of the services described in section
12201, subsection 3-A, paragraphs A, C or D for aclient having its home office in this State.

B. A firm that does not have an officein this State may perform services described in section 12201,
subsection 3-A, paragraph B for a client having its home office in this State and may use the title
"CPA" or "CPA firm" without alicense issued under this section only if:

(1) 1t qualifies for afirm license pursuant to subsections 3 and 8; and

(2) 1t performs such servicesthrough an individual with practiceprivilegesunder section 12251,
subsection 4-B.

C. A firmthat is not subject to the requirements of paragraphs A and B may perform professional
services other than those described in section 12201, subsection 3-A while using thetitle "CPA" or
"CPA firm" in this State without a license issued under this section only if the firm:

(1) Performs such services through an individua with practice privileges under section 12251,
subsection 4-B:; and

(2) Has legal authority to perform such servicesin the state of that individual's principal place
of business.

2. Duration. Licenses are initially issued and renewed for a period of one year, but in any

event expire on June 30th following issuance or renewal or on such other date as the commissioner may

designate. The board shall grant or deny a license application no later than 60 days after a complete

application isfiled. In any case when the applicant seeks the opportunity to show that issuance or renewal

of alicensewas mistakenly denied or when the board is not able to determine whether it should be granted

or denied, the board may issue to the applicant a provisional license, which expires 90 days after its

issuance or when the board determines whether or not to issue or renew the license for which application

was made, whichever first occurs.

3. Firmlicenses. Thefollowing provisions apply to the issuance of firm licenses.

A. Anapplicant for initial issuance or renewal of alicense under this section shall show that asimple
majority of the ownership of thefirm, in terms of financial interests and voting rights of all partners,
officers, shareholders, members or managers, belongs to holders of certificates who arelicensed in
astate and that all partners, officers, shareholders, members or managers whose principal place of
businessis in this State and who perform professional services in this State hold valid individual
licensesissued by the board. Firms may include nonlicensee ownersin accordance with paragraph B.

B. A certified public accountancy firm or public accountancy firm may include nonlicensee owners
aslong as.

(1) All nonlicensee owners are individuals who actively participate in the certified public

accountancy firm or public accountancy firm;
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(2) The firm complies with such other requirements as the board may impose by rule; and

(3) The firm designates an individual who is a licensee of this State or, in the case of afirm
that must have a license pursuant to subsection 1, paragraph A, subparagraph (3), designates
an individual who is alicensee of another state who meets the requirements set out in section
12251, subsection 4-B, paragraph A who is responsible for the proper registration of the firm
and identifies that individual who is alicensee to the board.

4. Officeregistered. Anapplicant for initial issuance or renewal of alicense under this section
shall register each office of the firm within this State with the board, pay the fee as set under section
12203 and show that each such office is under the charge of a person holding avalid license issued under
section 12251 or the corresponding provision of prior law or the laws of another state.

6. Out-of-state licenses.  Applicants for initial issuance or renewal of licenses under this
section shall in their application list all statesin which they have applied for, or hold licenses to, practice
public accountancy and each holder of, or applicant for, alicense under this section shall notify the board
in writing, within 30 days after its occurrence, of any change in the identities of partners, officers or
shareholders who work regularly within this State, any changein the number or [ocation of officeswithin
this State, any change in the identity of the persons in charge of those offices and any issuance, denial,
revocation or suspension of alicense by any other state.

8. Peer review for certified public accountancy firms. Asacondition to the granting
or renewal of licensesto certified public accountancy firms, each applicant that provides adefined service
other than compilations must successfully participate in an approved peer review program. Participation
in such aprogram is governed by the following.

A. A peer review must be completed within 18 months after the initial granting of the license. The
firm must undergo a peer review every 3 years for as long as it provides a defined service other
than compilations.

B. A certified public accountancy firm that does not provide a defined service other than
compilations is not required to undergo a peer review if the firm annually confirms in writing to
the board that it does not provide a defined service other than compilations. A certified public
accountancy firm that subsequently provides adefined service other than compilations must undergo
a peer review within 18 months after the fiscal year end of the first defined services engagement
other than compilations that it accepts.

The board is authorized to adopt rules to carry out the intent of this subsection. Rules adopted pursuant
to this subsection are routine technical rules pursuant to Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.

Sec. A-39. 32 MRSA 817104, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 369, Pt. C, §3 and affected by 85, is
amended by adding at the end a new paragraph to read:

Anindividual whoisenrolled in acourse of study |eading to a degree in speech-language pathol ogy
or audiology at an accredited college or accredited university is exempt as long as such activities and
services constitute a part of the course of study.
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Sec. A-40. 32 MRSA 817104, sub-84, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 369, Pt. C, 83 and affected
by 85, is repealed.

Sec. A-41. 34-B MRSA 85438, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 240, Pt. OO, 82, is reallocated to
34-B MRSA 8§5439.

Sec. A-42. 35-A MRSA 810008, sub-85, as enacted by PL 2007, c. 317, §15, is amended
to read:

5.Ceilingon ener gy efficiency spending. Thereisestablished aceiling on energy efficiency
spending from the trust equal to $5 per carbon dioxide allowance. Until that price ceiling is adjusted or
removed, only the first $5 of each carbon dioxide allowance sold and deposited in the trust fund may be
awarded to or directed to qualified projects for purposes of energy efficiency improvements. While the
ceilingisin place, revenue received by the trust from an allowance value above $5 must be transferred to
the commission for use used by the commission pursuant to sections 301 and 1322 for rebates to electric
ratepayers calculated on a per-kilowatt-hour basis.

Sec. A-43. 36 MRSA 8693, sub-81, asamended by PL 2007, c. 435, §1 and c. 437, 8§9, is
repealed and the following enacted in its place:

1. Reporting. On or before May 1st of each year, ataxpayer claiming an exemption under this
section shall fileareport with the assessor of the taxing jurisdiction in which the property would otherwise
be subject to taxation on April 1st of that year. The report must identify the property for which exemption
is claimed that would otherwise be subject to taxation on April 1st of that year and must be made on a
form prescribed by the State Tax Assessor or substitute form approved by the State Tax Assessor. The
State Tax Assessor shall furnish copies of the form to each municipality in the State and the form must
be made available to taxpayers prior to April 1st annually. The assessor of the taxing jurisdiction may
require the taxpayer to sign the form and make oath to its truth. If the report is not filed by April 1st,
the filing deadline is automatically extended to May 1st without the need for the taxpayer to request or
the assessor to grant that extension. Upon written request, the assessor may at any time grant further
extensions of time to file the report. If ataxpayer fails to file the report in a timely manner, including
any extensions of time, the taxpayer may not obtain an exemption for that property under this subchapter
for that tax year. The assessor of the taxing jurisdiction may require in writing that a taxpayer answer in
writing all reasonable inquiries as to the property for which exemption is requested. A taxpayer has 30
days from receipt of such an inquiry to respond. Upon written request, ataxpayer is entitled to a 30-day
extension to respond to the inquiry and the assessor may at any time grant additional extensions upon
written request. The answer to any such inquiry is not binding on the assessor.

All notices and reguests provided pursuant to this subsection must be made by persona delivery or
certified mail and must conspicuously state the consequences of the taxpayer's failure to respond to the
notice or request in atimely manner.

If an exemption has aready been accepted and the State Tax Assessor subsequently determines that the
property is not entitled to exemption, a supplemental assessment must be made within 3 years of the
original assessment date with respect to the property in compliance with section 713, without regard to the
limitations contained in that section regarding the justification necessary for a supplemental assessment.
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Sec. A-44. 36 MRSA 81760, sub-890, as enacted by PL 2007, c. 438, §47, is reallocated
to 36 MRSA 81760, sub-891.

Sec. A-45. 36 MRSA 86254, sub-81, asenacted by PL 1989, c. 534, Pt. C, §1 and repealed
and replaced by c. 713, 84, isamended to read:

1. Lien. The lien provided in section 552 must continue for purposes of protecting the State's
deferred tax interest in tax deferred property. When it is determined that one of the events set out in
section 6259 has occurred and that a property is no longer eligible for property tax deferral under this
chapter, the State Tax Assessor shall send notice by certified mail to the owner, or the owner's heirs or
devisees, listing the total amount of deferred property taxes, including accrued interest and costs of al
the years and demanding payment on or before April 30th of the year following the tax year in which the
circumstances causing withdrawal from the provisions of this chapter occur.

When the circumstances listed in section 6259, subsection 4 occur, the amount of deferred taxes is due
and payable 5 days before the date of removal of the property from the Stete.

If the deferred tax liability of a property has not been satisfied by the April 30th demand date, the State
Tax Assessor shall, within 30 days, record in the registry of deeds in the county where the real estate is
located atax lien certificate signed by the State Tax Assessor or bearing the assessor'sfacsimile signature,
setting forth the total amount of deferred tax liability, a description of the real estate on which the tax
was deferred and an allegation that a tax lien is claimed on the real estate to secure payment of the tax,
that a demand for payment of the tax has been made in accordance with this section and that the tax
remains unpaid.

At thetime of the recording of thetax lien certificate in the registry of deeds, the State Tax A ssessor shall
send by certified mail, return receipt requested, to each record holder of a mortgage on the real estate, to
the holder's last known address, atrue copy of thetax lien certificate. The cost to be paid by the property
owner, or the owner's heirs or devisees, isthe sum of the feesfor recording and discharging of thelien as
established by Title 33, section 751, subsection-10; plus $13. Upon redemption, the State Tax Assessor
shall prepare and record a discharge of the tax lien mortgage. The lien described in section 552 is the
basis of this tax lien mortgage procedure.

The filing of the tax lien certificate, provided for in this section, in the registry of deeds creates a
mortgage on the real estate to the State and has priority over all other mortgages, liens, attachments and
encumbrances of any nature and gives to the State all rights usually instant to a mortgage, except that the
mortgagee does not have any right of possession of the real estate until the right of redemption expires.

Payments accepted during the redemption period may not interrupt or extend the redemption period or
in any way affect the foreclosure procedures.

Sec. A-46. PL 2007, c. 146, §7 isamended to read:

Sec. 7. Staggered terms. Notwithstanding the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 12, section
18911890-A, subsection 4 and in order to ensure a certain level of continuity of service on the Allagash
Wilderness Waterway Advisory Council, the Commissioner-of-ConservationGovernor shall, in making
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the initial appointments for the advisory council, appoint 2 members to 3-year terms, 2 members to

4-year terms and 2 members to 5—year terms 3Fhe+eg+slafweeemmﬂfeeapprevakrequrrememseﬁ'ﬂﬂe

S < -Aninitial term of 3 or 4 years
IS cons dered afuII term for purposes of cal culatl ng the term limitation in Title 12, section 18911890-A,
Subsection 4.

Sec. A-47. PL 2007, c. 273, Pt. B, 87 isrepeded.
Sec. B-7. Effective date. This Part takes effect when approved.
Sec. A-48. PL 2007, c. 377, 817 isamended to read:

Sec. 17. Effective date. That section of this Act that enacts the Maine Revised Statutes, Title
34-A, section 1210-B takeseffect July 1, 2008. Those sections of this Act that amend Title 4, section 116;
Title 4, section 163, subsection 1; Title 30-A, section 1658; and Title 3434-A, section 1214, subsection
1 and subsection 3, paragraph B take effect July 1, 2008.

Sec. A-49. PL 2007, c. 440, 87, amending clause is amended to read:

Sec. 7. 22 MRSA 8332, as amended by PL 2001, c. 710, 89 and affected by 8§10, is repealed
and the following enacted in its place:

PART B

Sec. B-1. 7 MRSA 8508, sub-87, as amended by PL 2005, c. 512, §26, is further amended
to read:

7.Reused food or drugs. Tointroduce or deliver for introduction into commerce, or the receipt
in commerce and subsequent delivery or proffered delivery for pay or otherwise, of ahazardous substance
in a reused food, drug or cosmetic container or in a container that, though not a reused container, is
identifiable as a food, drug or cosmetic container by its labeling or other identification. The reuse of a
food, drug or cosmetic container as a container for a hazardous substance is an act that results in the
hazardous substance being a misbranded package. For the purposes of this subsection and section 509,
"drug" has the same meaning as defined in Title 32, section 1370213702-A, subsection 911.

Sec. B-2. 10 MRSA 81141, sub-81, asenacted by PL 1991, c. 261, is amended to read:

1. Credit card. "Credit card" has the same meaning as "accepted credit card,” as defined in Title
9-A, section 8-103, subsection 11-A, paragraph A.

Sec. B-3. 10 MRSA 89041, first ], asamended by PL 1991, c. 714, 84, is further amended
to read:

The board shall adopt rules and establish standards as provided by section 90059005-A to administer
and enforce this subchapter.

Sec. B-4. 22 MRSA 82383-B, sub-83, {|C, asenacted by PL 1995, c. 499, §3 and affected
by 85, is amended to read:

C. "Prescription drugs' has the same meaning as defined in Title 32, section 1370213702-A,
subsection 2430 and includes so-called legend drugs.
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Sec. B-5. 26 MRSA 8682, sub-88, /B, asenacted by PL 1989, c. 536, §81 and 2 and affected
by c. 604, 882 and 3, is amended to read:

B. "Drug" has the same meaning as found in Title 32, section 1370213702-A, subsection 911.
Sec. B-6. 32 MRSA 8552, last 1, asenacted by PL 2005, c. 262, Pt. A, 84, isamended to read:

Theboard may waive the examination requirements and grant alicense to any applicant who presents
proof of being licensed to practice in another jurisdiction of the United States or another country whose
licensing requirements are considered by the board to be substantially equivalent to or higher than those
set forth in this chapter, if no cause exists for denial of alicense under section 503-A503-B or Title 10,
section 8003, subsection 5-A, paragraph A. The applicant shall pay the required license fee as set under
section 558.

Sec. B-7. 32 MRSA 81071, sub-81, asamended by PL 1993, c. 600, Pt. A, 8§56, is further
amended to read:

1. Membership. A personisnot eligible for appointment to the board who has been convicted
of aviolation of the provisions of this or any other prior dental practice act, or who has been convicted
of acrime punishable by more than one year'simprisonment. A person is not eligible for appointment to
the board who has served 10 years or more on a dental examining board in this State. Appointment of
members must comply with Title 10, section 608009. The Governor may remove a member of the board
on proven charges of inefficiency, incompetence, immorality or unprofessional conduct.

Sec. B-8. 32 MRSA 81301, 2nd |, asamended by PL 1993, c. 600, Pt. A, §103, is further
amended to read:

Appointments are for 5-year terms. Appointments of members must comply with Title 10, section
608009.

Sec. B-9. 32 MRSA 82151, asamended by PL 1993, c. 600, Pt. A, §120, is further amended
to read:

§ 2151. Appointment; term; removal

The State Board of Nursing, as established by Title 5, section 12004-A, subsection 25, consists of
9 members who are appointed by the Governor. A full-term appointment is for 4 years. Appointment of
members must comply with Title 10, section 608009. Members of the board may be removed from office
for cause by the Governor.

Sec. B-10. 32 M RSA 82415, asamended by PL 1995, c. 606, §2, is further amended to read:

8 2415. Appointment; tenure; vacancies, removal

The State Board of Optometry, as established by Title 5, section 12004-A, subsection 28 and in this
chapter called the "board," consists of 6 persons appointed by the Governor. Five of the appointees must
have been resident optometrists engaged in the actual practice of optometry in this State for a period of at
least 5 years prior to their appointment and after the 1999 renewal they must hold advanced therapeutic
licenses. One of the appointees must be a consumer member who is a resident of this State and has no
pecuniary interest in optometry or in the merchandising of optical products. Appointment isfor aterm of
5 years. Appointments of members must comply with Title 10, section 608009. A member of the board
may be removed from office for cause by the Governor. The board has a common seal.
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Sec. B-11. 32 MRSA 83263, first ], asamended by PL 1997, c. 680, Pt. C, 81, is further
amended to read:

The Board of Licensurein Medicine, as established by Title 5, section 12004-A, subsection 24, and
in this chapter called the "board,” consists of 9 individuals who are residents of this State, appointed by
the Governor. Three individuals must be representatives of the public. Six individuals must be graduates
of alegaly chartered medical college or university having authority to confer degrees in medicine and
must have been actively engaged in the practice of their profession in this State for a continuous period of
5 years preceding their appointments to the board. A full-term appointment is for 6 years. Appointment
of members must comply with Title 10, section 608009. A member of the board may be removed from
office for cause by the Governor.

Sec. B-12. 32 MRSA 83651-A, sub-81, asamended by PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. P, §7, isfurther
amended to read:

1. Residency requirement. An applicant who has graduated after January 1, 1991 from
podiatric medical school as set forth in section 3651-B3651-C seeking licensure to practice podiatry shall
provide the board with evidence of satisfactory completion of at least one year of postgraduate clinical
training in a podiatric residency training program approved by the accrediting body of the American
Podiatric Medical Association, or its successor or other organization approved by the board.

Sec. B-13. 32 MRSA 83651-A, sub-82, asamended by PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. P, 88, isfurther
amended to read:

2.Residency licensure. A doctor of podiatric medicinewho has graduated after January 1, 1991
from podiatric medical school as set forth in section 3651-B3651-C may not practice podiatric medicine
in a podiatric residency program without first having applied for and obtained a residency license from
the board.

A. An applicant for aresidency license must be a doctor of podiatric medicine who is a graduate
of a school of podiatry, as set forth in this chapter. An examination is not required for applicants
for residency licensure. The fee for residency licensure is the same as the fee for licensure for that
year. A residency license may be denied for a reason for which a podiatric medical license may be
disciplined under section 3655-A3656 or Title 10, section 8003, subsection 5-A, paragraph A.

B. A residency licenseisvalid only for the practice of podiatric medicine as part of the postgraduate
residency program. A residency license is subject to discipline for a reason for which a podiatric
medical license may be disciplined under section 3655-A3656 or Title 10, section 8003, subsection
5-A, paragraph A. If the holder of aresidency license is terminated from or otherwise ceases to be
aresident in the postgraduate residency program, the residency license becomes void as of the date
the resident is terminated or ceases to be aresident.

C. A residency license is valid for up to one year, and may be renewed annually before the first
day of July of every year, not to exceed an aggregate of 4 years. Renewal of aresidency licenseis
subject to the same requirements and conditions as the initial residency license.

Sec. B-14. 32 MRSA 86220, asrepealed and replaced by PL 2003, c. 347, §23 and affected
by 825, is amended to read:

8 6220. Endor sement
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The board may waive the requirements of this chapter and grant aregistration, certificate or license
to any applicant who presents proof of authorization to practice by another jurisdiction of the United
States or another country that maintains professional standards considered by the board to be substantially
equivalent to or higher than those set forth in this chapter, as long as there is no cause for denia of a
registration, certificate or license under section 6217-A6217-B or Title 10, section 8003, subsection 5-A,
paragraph A. The applicant must pay the application and license fee as set under section 6215.

Sec. B-15. 32 MRSA 812274, sub-83, asamended by PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. Z, §22, isfurther
amended to read:

3. Discipline. Inany casewhen the board renders adecision imposing discipline against alicensee
under this section and section 1227312273-A, the board shall examine its records to determine whether
the licensee holds a certificate or alicense in any other state; and, if so, the board shall notify the board
of accountancy of that other state of its decision by mail within 45 days of rendering the decision. The
board may also furnish information relating to proceedings resulting in disciplinary action to other public
authorities and to private professional organizations having adisciplinary interest in the licensee.

Sec. B-16. 32 M RSA 812278, asenacted by PL 1987, c. 489, 82, is amended to read:
§ 12278. Single act evidence of practice

In any action brought under section 1227312273-A or 12277 or Title 10, section 8003, subsection
5-A, evidence from the commission of asingle act prohibited by this chapter shall-beis sufficient to justify
a penalty, injunction, restraining order or conviction, respectively, without evidence of a general course
of conduct.

Sec. B-17. 32 MRSA 812279, asenacted by PL 1987, c. 489, §2, is amended to read:

8 12279. Confidential communications

Except by permission of the client engaging a licensee under this chapter, or the heirs, successors
or personal representatives of that client, a licensee or any partner, officer, shareholder or employee
of a licensee shallmay not voluntarily disclose information communicated to himthe licensee, or any
partner, officer, shareholder or employee of the licensee, by the client relating to, and in connection with,
services rendered to the client by the licensee in the practice of public accountancy. That information
shalimust be considered confidential;providedthatas|ong as nothing may be construed as prohibiting the
disclosure of information required to be disclosed by the standards of the public accounting professionin
reporting on the examination of financial statements or as prohibiting disclosures in court proceedings,
investigations or proceedings under section 1227312273-A or Title 10, section 8003, subsection 5-A, in
ethical investigations conducted by private professional organizations or in the course of quality reviews.

Sec. B-18. 32 MRSA 813795, sub-85, A, asenacted by PL 2005, c. 430, §7 and affected
by 810, is amended to read:

A. If the Director of the Maine Drug Enforcement Agency within the Department of Public
Safety finds that the ease of availability of liquid, liquid-filled capsule or glycerin matrix forms
of products containing ephedrine, pseudoephedrine or phenylpropanolamine or their salts, isomers
or sats of isomers, either alone or in combination with other ingredients, referred to in this
paragraph as "products,” is athreat to the public health, safety and welfare, then the Director of the
Maine Drug Enforcement Agency shall notify the Director of the Office of Substance Abuse. The

Director of the Office of Substance Abuse shall consult with the joint standing committee of the
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Legidature having jurisdiction over health and human services matters, providing the reasons for
undertaking rulemaking, and may, after consultation, adopt rules designating the products astargeted
methamphetamine precursors pursuant to section 1370213702-A, subsection 25-B33, paragraph B.

Sec. B-19. 32 MRSA 813863, sub-86, asrepeaed and replaced by PL 1991, c. 548, Pt. A,
825, isamended to read:

6. Disciplinary action. Any individual who isregistered under this section is subject to section
1386113861-A.

Sec. B-20. 32 MRSA 815104-B, last ], asenacted by PL 2001, c. 573, Pt. A, §2, is amended
to read:

A person who is or will be aggrieved by the application of any law, code or rule relating to the
installation or ateration of boilers and pressure vessels may file a petition for a variance, whether
compliance with that provision is required at the time of filing or at the time that provision becomes
effective. The filing fee for a petition for a variance must be set by the Director of the Office of
Licensing and Registration under section 15109,-subsection-915104-C. The chief inspector may grant a
variance if, owing to conditions especially affecting the particular boiler or pressure vessel involved, the
enforcement of any law, code or rule relating to boilers or pressure vessels would do manifest injustice
or cause substantial hardship, financial or otherwise, to the petitioner or would be unreasonable under the
circumstances;-provided-thatas long as desirable relief may be granted without substantial detriment to
the public good and without nullifying or substantially derogating from the intent or purpose of that law,
code or rule. In granting a variance under this section, the chief inspector may impose limitations both of
time and of use, and a continuation of the use permitted may be conditioned upon compliance with rules
made and amended from time to time. A copy of the decision must be sent to all interested parties.

Sec. B-21. 32 MRSA 815108-A, as amended by PL 2001, c. 323, §35, is further amended
to read:

§ 15108-A. Boiler and pressure vessel inspectors

The board shall issue alicense as a boiler inspector upon payment of an application fee and license
fee under section 15109;-subsection-915104-C set by the director to any person who files an application
and meets the qualifications as specified by rule. The board shall issue a license as a boiler inspector
upon payment of an application fee and license fee to any person who files an application and holds
a certificate as an inspector of steam boilers from a state that has a standard of licensing equal to that
of this State or a certification from the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors, or its
successor organization.

Sec. B-22. 32 MRSA 815117, first [, asamended by PL 2001, c. 573, Pt. A, §5, is further
amended to read:

Each boiler or pressure vessel used or proposed for use within this State, except boilers or pressure
vessels exempt under section 15102, must be thoroughly inspected by the chief inspector, a deputy
inspector or an authorized inspector, as to its design, construction, installation, condition and operation.
The board shall adopt rules pursuant to the Maine Administrative Procedure Act specifying the method
and frequency of inspection. When any boiler or pressure vessel inspected as specified by the board is
found to be suitable and to conform to the rules of the board, the chief inspector shall issue to the owner or
user of that boiler or pressure vessel, upon payment of afeeto the board, an inspection certificate for each

boiler or pressure vessel. The fee under section 15109;-subsection-915104-C must be set by the director.
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Inspection certificates must specify the maximum pressure that the boiler or pressure vessel inspected is
allowed to carry. The inspection certificate may be valid for not more than 14 months from the date of
inspection in the case of boilers and 38 months from the date of inspection in the case of pressure vessels
and must be posted under glassin the engine or boiler room containing the boiler or pressure vessel or an
engine operated by it or, in the case of a portable boiler, in the office of the plant where it istemporarily
located. The board may adopt rules setting forth criteria by which atemporary extension of aninspection
certificate beyond 14 monthsin the case of boilers and beyond 38 months in the case of pressure vessels
may be authorized. Rules adopted pursuant to this section are routine technical rules pursuant to Title 5,
chapter 375, subchapter H-A2-A.

Sec. B-23. 38 MRSA 889, asamended by PL 1999, c. 355, 89, is further amended to read:

8 89. Maine Pilotage Commission members

The Maine Pilotage Commission, as established by Title 5, section 12004-A, subsection 40, consists
of 7 memberswho are citizens of the United States and the State of Maine appointed by the Governor as
follows: Three licensed pilots who are actively piloting, one member from each of the coastal zones; 2
members who are not licensed pilots but are from amaritime industry that utilizes the services of pilots;
and 2 members representing the public who are not licensed pilots but have a maritime background.
Appointments are for 3-year terms. Appointments of members must comply with Title 3210, section
608009. The members of the commission are entitled to compensation according to Title 5, chapter 379.

Sec. B-24. 39-A MRSA 8206, sub-811, asamended by PL 2001, c. 60, &1, isfurther amended
to read:

11. Generic drugs. Providers shall prescribe generic drugs whenever medically acceptable for
the treatment of an injury or disease for which compensation is claimed. An employee shall purchase
genericdrugsfor thetreatment of aninjury or diseasefor which compensationisclaimed if the prescribing
provider indicates that generic drugs may be used and if generic drugs are available at the time and place
of purchase. If an employee purchases a nongeneric drug when the prescribing provider has indicated
that a generic drug may be used and a generic drug is available at the time and place of purchase, the
insurer or self-insurer is required to reimburse the employee for the cost of the generic drug only. For
purposes of this section, "generic drug" has the same meaning found in Title 32, section 1370213702-A,
subsection 1114.

PART C

Sec. C-1. 1 MRSA 8409, sub-82, asenacted by PL 1975, c. 758, is amended to read:

2. Actions. If any body or agency approves any ordinances, orders, rules, resol utions, regulations,
contracts, appointmentsor other official action in an executive session, thisaction shalt-beisillegal and the
official s responsibite shall-beresponsible are subject to the penalties hereinafter provided. Upon learning
of any such action, any person may appeal to any Superior Court in the State. If a court, after atrial de
novo, determines this action was taken illegally in an executive session, it shall enter an order providing
for the action to be null and void. Appeals shal-beare privileged in respect to their assignment for trial
over al other actions except writs of habeas corpus or actions brought by the State against individuals.

Sec. C-2. 12 MRSA 86071, sub-81, asamended by PL 1999, c. 401, Pt. BB, 83, is further
amended to read:
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1. Live importing for introduction into coastal waters. Except for Atlantic salmon
imported by the Atlantic Salmon Commission under Part 229, it is unlawful to import for introduction,
possess for purposes of introduction or introduce into coastal waters a live marine organism without a
permit issued by the commissioner pursuant to subsection 2.

Sec. C-3. 12 MRSA 812456, sub-81, asenacted by PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 and affected
by c. 614, 89, is amended to read:

1. Open seasons. Except as provided in subsection 2 and Part-12section 6140-A, subsection 4
and except as the commissioner may by rule provide, the following are the open seasons for fishing in
the State. All opening and closing dates are inclusive.

A. The open season for all fishinwatersor portions of waters naturally free of icein lakes and ponds
isfrom April 1st to September 30th.

B. The open season for all fish in the rivers above tidewater in waters free of ice is from April 1st
to September 15th.

C. The open season for all fishin brooks and streamsin watersfree of iceisfrom April 1st to August
15th.

D. The open-water fishing season on boundary waters between Maine and New Brunswick isfrom
April 15th to September 30th.

Sec. C-4. 19-A MRSA 8701, sub-84, asenacted by PL 1995, c. 694, Pt. B, §2 and affected
by Pt. E, 82, isrepealed and the following enacted in its place:

4. Polygamy. A marriage contracted while either party hasaliving wife or husband from whom
the party is not divorced is void.

Sec. C-5. 21-A MRSA 8196, sub-82, asamended by PL 2007, c. 397, §2 and c. 455, §11,
is repealed and the following enacted in its place:

2. Voter listsor reportsidentifying voters. A person may purchase alist or report of
voter information containing some or all of the information from the central voter registration system
by making a request to the Secretary of State or to a municipal registrar if the information requested
concernsvotersin that municipality. The Secretary of State or the municipal registrar shall make available
the following information, subject to the fees set forth in subsection 4 and the restrictions on use and
redistribution of data set forth in subsection 7: the voter's name, residence address, mailing address, date
of birth, enrollment status, electoral district, voter status, the date of registration or the date of change of
the voter record if applicable, voter participation in previous e ections including whether the voter cast
achallenged or absentee ballot, voter record number and any special designations indicating uniformed
service voters, overseas voters or township voters. In addition, municipal clerks or registrars shall make
available upon request the list of persons who requested or were furnished absentee ballots created and
maintained pursuant to section 753-B subject to the fees set forth in subsection 4 for printed lists and
free of charge for electronic lists.

Sec. C-6. 22 MRSA 81711-E, sub-81, fF-2, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 460, §1, is amended
to read:
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F-2. "Pharmacy" means a mail order prescription pharmacy as defined in Title 32, section
1370213702-A, subsection 1317 or a drug—outletpharmacy as defined in Title 32, section
1370213702-A, subsection 1024.

Sec. C-7. 22 MRSA 81711-E, sub-81, fH, asenacted by PL 2005, c. 589, §1, is amended
to read:

H. "Prescription drug information” means information concerning prescription drugs as defined in
Title 32, section 1370213702-A, subsection 2430 and includes prescription drug orders as defined
in Title 32, section 1370213702-A, subsection 2531.

Sec. C-8. 22 MRSA 82685, sub-82, D, as enacted by PL 2007, c. 327, §1, is amended
to read:

D. "Dispenser" means a licensed mail order prescription pharmacy as defined in Title 32, section
1370213702-A, subsection 1317; a licensed drug-outletpharmacy as defined in Title 32, section
1370213702-A, subsection 1024; and any other person or entity licensed to dispense prescription
drugs under Title 32, chapter 117.

Sec. C-9. 22 MRSA 83174-G, sub-81, /B, asamended by PL 2003, c. 469, Pt. A, 85 and
c. 673, Pt. Y, 81 and affected by 83, isrepealed and the following enacted in its place:

B. Aninfant under one year of age when the infant's family income is equal to or below 200% of
the nonfarm income official poverty line, except that the department may adopt arule that provides
that infants in families with income over 185% and equal to or below 200% of the nonfarm income
official poverty line who meet the €eligibility requirements of the Cub Care program established
under section 3174-T are €ligible to participate in the Cub Care program instead of Medicaid. Rules
adopted pursuant to this paragraph are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375,
subchapter 2-A;

Sec. C-10. 22 MRSA 83174-G, sub-81, D, asamended by PL 2003, c. 469, Pt. A, §5 and
c. 673, Pt. Y, 82 and affected by 83, isrepealed and the following enacted in its place:

D. A child oneyear of age or older and under 19 years of age when the child'sfamily incomeisequal
to or below 200% of the nonfarm income official poverty line, except that the department may adopt
arule that provides that children described in this paragraph in families with income over 150%
and equal to or below 200% of the nonfarm income official poverty line who meet the dligibility
reguirements of the Cub Care program established under section 3174-T are €ligible to participate
in the Cub Care program instead of Medicaid. Rules adopted pursuant to this paragraph are routine
technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A;

Sec. C-11. 24 MRSA 8§2317-B, sub-812-B, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 452, §1, is amended
to read:

12-B. Title 24-A, sections 2762, 2847-O and 4255. Coverage for hearing aids, Title 24-A,
sections 2762, 2847-M2847-O and 42534255;

Sec. C-12. 24 MRSA 82317-B, sub-812-C, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 595, §1 and affected
by 85, is repealed.

Sec. C-13. 24 MRSA 82317-B, sub-812-D isenacted to read:
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12-D. Title 24-A, sections 2763, 2847-P and 4256. Coverage for medically necessary
infant formula, Title 24-A, sections 2763, 2847-P and 4256;

Sec. C-14. 24-A MRSA 810, sub-86, asamended by PL 2007, c. 539, Pt. N, 8§55, is further
amended to read:

6. Thegovernment contracting activities of a health care servicing entity, asdefined in Title 22-A,
section 207, subsection 17, contracting, whether directly or as a subcontractor, with the Department of
Health and Human Services, unless otherwise expressly provided by this Title. This Title may apply to
any other insurance or managed care activities of a health care servicing entity.

Sec. C-15. 24-A MRSA 82847-N, as enacted by PL 2007, c. 595, §3 and affected by 85, is
reallocated to 24-A MRSA §2847-P.

Sec. C-16. 24-A MRSA 84254, as enacted by PL 2007, c. 595, 84 and affected by 85, is
reallocated to 24-A MRSA 84256.

Sec. C-17. 26 MRSA 81028, sub-82, asamended by PL 1993, c. 90, §6, is further amended
to read:

2. Review of representation proceedings. Any person aggrieved by any ruling or
determination of the executive director under sections 10241024-A and 1025 may appeal, within 15 days
of the announcement of the ruling or determination, except that in theinstance of objectionsto the conduct
of an election or challenged ball otsthetime periodis5 working days, to the Maine Labor Relations Board.
Upon receipt of such an appeal, the board shall within a reasonable time; hold a hearing, having first
caused 7 days notice, in writing, of the time and place of the hearings to be given to the aggrieved party,
the labor organizations or bargaining agent and the public employer. The hearings and the procedures
established in furtherance thereof must be in accordance with section 968. Decisions of the board made
pursuant to this subsection are subject to review by the Superior Court under the Maine Rules of Civil
Procedure, Rule 80C, in accordance with the standards specified in section 972, if the complaint isfiled
within 15 days of the date of issuance of the decision. The complaint must be served upon the board and
all parties to the board proceeding by certified mail, return receipt requested.

Sec. C-18. 32 M RSA 812274, sub-82, asenacted by PL 1987, c. 489, §2, isamended to read:

2. Review. The board may review the publicly available professional work of licensees on a
general and random basis, without any requirement of aformal complaint or suspicion of impropriety on
the part of any particular licensee. If, as aresult of such review, the board discovers reasonable grounds
for a more specific investigation, the board may proceed under subsection-1Title 10, section 8003-A,
subsection 2.

PART D

Sec. D-1. 34-B MRSA 81216, sub-84, asrepealed and replaced by PL 2007, c. 356, §6 and
affected by 831, is amended to read:

4. Repeal. Thissection is repealed enthetater-ef:120 days after the establishment of the Maine
Developmental Services Oversight and Advisory Board.
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Sec. D-2. PL 2007, c. 356, 830, sub-81 isamended to read:

1. Correspondent program. The Maine Developmental Services Oversight and Advisory Board,
established in the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 5, section 12004-1, subsection 61-A and referred to in
this section as "the board,” shall work with the Department of Health and Human Services to improve
and promote the correspondent program operated by the Consumer Advisory Board established pursuant
to Title 34-B, section 1216. No-later-than-January-1,-20090ne hundred and twenty days after the
establishment, the board shall present a report to the joint standing committee of the Legislature having
jurisdiction over health and human services matters, together with a proposed plan that provides for the
independent operation of the correspondent program with oversight by the board. After receipt and review
of the report, the joint standing committee may submit a bill to the 124th Legislature.

Sec. D-3. PL 2007, c. 356, 831 isamended to read:

Sec. 31. Effective dateS This Act takes effect November 1, 2007, except that the followmg
sections take effect o v -
Statutes%irtte%%ﬂeetfenﬂieﬂjbseetlenﬂ%n the Iater of Januarv 1 2009 and 45 davs after the
United States District Court releases the State from all obligations under the community consent decree,
Consumer Advisory Board et al. v. Glover, No. 91-321-P-C (D. Me., September 28, 1994):

1. Those sectionsT hat section of this Act that repeal-Title-3;-section-959;-subsection-1; paragraph-F;
andrepeals Title 5, section 12004-1, subsection 61;

2. Fhat-sectionThose sections of this Act that amendsamend Title 3, section 959, subsection 1,
paragraph F and Title 34-B, section 5605, subsection 13, paragraph B; and

3. Those sections of this Act that enact Title 5, section 12004-J, subsection 15 and Title 34-B, section
1223.

PART E

Sec. E-1. 28-A MRSA 81504, sub-83-A isenacted to read:

3-A. Partial-bottle distilled spirits samples. Samples must be decanted from the
distilled spirits product bottle and provided to licensees licensed for on-premises consumption. The agent
providing the sample shall maintain alog stating the names of the licensees who sampled the product and
the amount sampled. Partial-bottle samples must be properly sealed between tastings.

PART F

Sec. F-1. PL 2007, c. 539, Pt. A, 843 isamended to read:

Sec. A-43. Appropriations and allocations. The following appropriations and allocations
are made.
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PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION, DEPARTMENT OF
Administrative Services - Professional and Financial Regulation 0094

Initiative: Eliminates the headcount, salary and related costs associated with the Commissioner
Department of Profonal and Fi nanC|aI Regulatlon posmon in the Admmlstratlve Serwc&e Division

OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE FUNDS 2007-08 2008-09
POSITIONS - LEGISLATIVE COUNT 0.000 (1.000)
Personal Services $0 ($109,168)
All Other $0 ($892)

OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE FUNDS TOTAL $0 ($110,060)

Office of Securities 0943

Initiative: Eliminates the headcount, salary and related costs associated with an Assistant Securities
Administrator, Public Services Manager |1 position within the Office of Securities.

OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE FUNDS 2007-08 2008-09
POSITIONS - LEGISLATIVE COUNT 0.000 (1.000)
Personal Services $0 ($100,815)
All Other $0 ($1,992)

OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE FUNDS TOTAL $0 ($102,807)

PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION,
DEPARTMENT OF

DEPARTMENT TOTALS 2007-08 2008-09

OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE FUNDS $0  ($212,867)

DEPARTMENT TOTAL - ALL FUNDS $0 ($212,867)
PART G

Sec. G-1. 20-A MRSA 81486, sub-83, {F, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 240, Pt. XX XX, 8§13,
is amended to read:

F. If the school budget does not exceed the maximum state and local spending target pursuant to
section 15671-A, subsection 5, the article to be voted on must be in the following form:
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(1) "Doyou favor approving the (name of regional school unit) budget for the upcoming school
year that was adopted at the |atest regional(name of school unit) budget meeting?

YesNo"

Sec. G-2. 20-A MRSA 81486, sub-83, G, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 240, Pt. XXXX, 813,
is amended to read:

G. If the school budget exceeds the maximum state and local spending target pursuant to section
15671-A, subsection 5, the article to be voted on for a budget that includes locally raised funds over
and above the regional school unit's local contribution to the total cost of funding public education
from kindergarten to grade 12 as described in the Essential Programs and Services Funding Act must
be in the following form:

(2) "Doyou favor approving the (name of regional school unit) budget for the upcoming school
year that was adopted at the latest regional(name of school unit) budget meeting and that
includes locally raised funds that exceed the required local contribution as described in the
Essential Programs and Services Funding Act?

YesNo
A YES vote alows additional funds to be raised for K-12 public education.
A NO vote means additional funds cannot be raised for K-12 public education.”

PART H

Sec. H-1. PL 2007, c. 539, Pt. F, 82 isrepealed and the following enacted in its place:

Sec. F-2. Commissioner of Health and Human Services; fees. The Commissioner
of Health and Human Services shall adopt rules to increase the fees assessed under the Maine Revised
Statutes, Title 22, section 2494 effective July 1, 2008. The fees must be calculated to produce revenue for
the special revenue account established under that section in an amount sufficient to meet the expenditures
from the account for the licensure and inspection responsibilities under that section of the Department of
Health and Human Services, Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention. Rules adopted pursuant
to this section are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.

Sec. H-2. PL 2007, c. 539, Pt. F, 85 isamended to read:

Sec. F-5. Resolving overlapping jurisdiction. If an establishment has operations that may
fall under the jurisdiction of both the Department of Health and Human Services, Maine Center for
Disease Control and Prevention and the Department of Agriculture, Food and Rural Resources, Division
of Quality Assurance and Regulation, the Department of Agriculture, Food and Rural Resources has
jurisdiction over al operations of the establishment unless sales of food for consumption on the premises
or ready-to-eat for off-premises consumption, measured by annual dollar receipts, exceeds 50% of total
annual food-related dollar receipts, in which case the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention
has jurisdiction over the establishment. The field staff of the respective departments shall meet on a
regular basisto resolve jurisdictional questions and issues.

PART I
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Sec. I-1. 12 MRSA 86701, sub-87, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 557, &1, isrepealed.
Sec. [-2. 12 MRSA 86702, sub-87, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 557, §2, isrepealed.
Sec. |-3. 12 MRSA 86703, sub-86, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 557, §3, is repealed.

Sec. 1-4. 12 MRSA 86721-A, sub-85, asamended by PL 2007, c. 607, Pt. A, 86 and Pt. B,
84, isrepealed and the following enacted in its place:

5. Violation. Notwithstanding section 6174, subsection 3, a person who violates this section
commits a civil violation for which the following penalties apply:

A. For thefirst offense, amandatory fine of $500 isimposed and all scallops on board may be seized:;

B. For the 2nd offense, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on board may be
seized; and

C. For the 3rd and subsequent offenses, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on
board may be seized. This penalty is imposed in addition to the penalty imposed under section
6728-B.

Sec. 1-5. 12 MRSA 86721-A, sub-86, asamended by PL 2007, c. 557, 84, is repealed.

Sec. 1-6. 12 MRSA 86722, asrepealed and replaced by PL 2007, c. 557, 85 and c. 607, Pt. B,
85, isrepealed and the following enacted in its place:

8 6722. Scallop season

1. Scallop fishing season.  Unless modified by rules adopted under section 6171-A, a person
may not fish for or take scallops in the territorial waters from April 16th to November 30th, both days
inclusive.

2. Violations. Notwithstanding section 6174, subsection 3, a person who violates this section
commits acivil violation for which the following penalties apply:

A. For thefirst offense, amandatory fine of $500isimposed and all scallops on board may be seized:;

B. For the 2nd offense, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scalops on board may be
seized; and

C. For the 3rd and subsequent offenses, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on
board may be seized. The penalty imposed pursuant to this paragraph is in addition to the penalty
imposed under section 6728-B.

Sec. |-7. 12 MRSA 86725, asrepealed and replaced by PL 2007, c. 557, 86 and c. 607, Pt. B,
87, isrepealed and the following enacted in its place:

8 6725. Possession of illegal scallops

1. Prohibition. A person may not possess, ship, transport, buy or sell scallopstaken in violation
of this subchapter.
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2. Violations. Notwithstanding section 6174, subsection 3, a person who violates this section
commits a civil violation for which the following penalties apply:

A. For thefirst offense, amandatory fine of $500 isimposed and all scallops on board may be seized:;

B. For the 2nd offense, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on board may be
seized; and

C. For the 3rd and subsequent offenses, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on
board may be seized. The penalty imposed pursuant to this paragraph is in addition to the penaty
imposed under section 6728-B.

Sec. 1-8. 12 MRSA 86726, sub-84, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 557, §7, is amended to read:

4. Violations. Notwithstanding section 6174, subsection 3, a person who violates this section in
Cobscook-Bay commits acivil violation for which the following penalties apply:

A. For thefirst offense, amandatory fine of $500 isimposed and all scallops on board may be seized;

B. For the 2nd offense, amandatory fine of $750 isimposed and all scallops on board may be seized;
and

C. For the 3rd and subsequent offenses, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on
board may be seized. The penalty imposed pursuant to this paragraph is in addition to the penalty
Imposed under section 6728-B.

Sec. 1-9. 12 MRSA 86728-B, as enacted by PL 2007, c. 557, 8§10 and c. 607, Pt. B, 88, is
repealed and the following enacted in its place:

8§ 6728-B. Habitual violations

The commissioner shall suspend the handfishing scallop license or other license issued under this
Part authorizing the taking of scallops of any license holder adjudicated or convicted in court of a 3rd
or subsequent violation of this subchapter. The suspension must be for at least one year from the date of
conviction and may be for up to 3 years.

PART J

Sec. J-1. Appropriationsand allocations. The following appropriations and allocations are
made.

JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT
Courts- Supreme, Superior, District and Administrative 0063

Initiative: Deappropriates funds appropriated in Public Law 2007, chapter 539, Part OOOOQ that do not
take effect until June 30, 2008.

GENERAL FUND 2007-08 2008-09
All Other ($450,000) $0
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GENERAL FUND TOTAL ($450,000) $0

Courts- Supreme, Superior, District and Administrative 0063

Initiative: Provides funds for indigent defense costsin fiscal year 2007-08.

GENERAL FUND 2007-08 2008-09
All Other $450,000 $0
GENERAL FUND TOTAL $450,000 ($0)

JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT

DEPARTMENT TOTALS 2007-08 2008-09

GENERAL FUND $0 $0

DEPARTMENT TOTAL - ALL FUNDS $0 $0
PART K

Sec. K-1. 12 MRSA 86024, sub-81-A, as repealed and replaced by PL 2007, c. 615, §3, is
further amended to read:

1-A. Appointment; composition; term; compensation. TheMarine Resources Advisory
Council, established by Title 5, section 12004-G, subsection 27, consists of 16 members. The chair
of the Lobster Advisory Council, the chair of the Marine Recreational Fishing Advisory Council, the
chair of the Sea Run Fisheries and Habitat Advisory Council and, the chair of the Sea Urchin Zone
Council and the chair of the Shellfish Advisory Council are ex officio members of the council. Each
other member is appointed by the Governor and is subject to review by the joint standing committee of
the Legidlature having jurisdiction over marine resources matters and to confirmation by the L egislature.
SixFive members must be persons who are licensed under this Part to engage in commercia harvesting
activities. Those 65 members are sel ected by the Governor from names recommended to the Governor by
groupsrepresenting commercial harvesting interests. Each member must represent adifferent commercial
harvesting activity, except that none of those 65 members may represent |obster harvesters. Theremaining
6 members must include one public member, 4 persons who hold a nonharvesting-related license under
this Part and one person representing the aquaculture industry. The Governor shall select the person to
represent the aquaculture industry from among the names recommended by the aquaculture industry.
The composition of the council must reflect a geographical distribution along the coast. All appointed
members are appointed for aterm of 3 years, except a vacancy must be filled in the same manner as an
original member for the unexpired portion of the term. An appointed member may not serve for more
than 2 consecutive terms. A ppointed members serve until their successors are appointed. The chair of the
L obster Advisory Council, the chair of the Marine Recreational Fishing Advisory Council, thechair of the
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Sea Run Fisheries and Habitat Advisory Council and, the chair of the Sea Urchin Zone Council and the
chair of the Shellfish Advisory Council shall serve until a new chair of the Lobster Advisory Council, a
new chair of the Marine Recreational Fishing Advisory Council, anew chair of the Sea Run Fisheriesand
Habitat Advisory Council or, anew chair of the Sea Urchin Zone Council or anew chair of the Shellfish
Advisory Council, respectively, ischosen. Members are compensated as provided in Title 5, chapter 379.

PART L

Sec. L-1. 24-A MRSA 86915, asamended by PL 2007, c. 629, Pt. D, §3, is further amended
to read:

§ 6915. Dirigo Health Enterprise Fund

The Dirigo Health Enterprise Fund is created as an enterprise fund for the deposit of any funds
advanced for initial operating expenses, payments made by employers and individuals, revenues
transferred pursuant to Title 28-A, section 1652, subsection 5 and Title 36, section 4853, any payments
made pursuant to former section 6913 and section 6913-A and any funds received from any public
or private source for the Dirigo Heath Program and the Maine Individual Reinsurance Association
established by chapter 54. An amount equal to 18.8% of the deposits received by the Dirigo Health
Enterprise Fund from revenues transferred pursuant to Title 28-A, section 1652, subsection 5 and Title
36, section 4853, and revenues deposited pursuant to section 6913-A must be transferred to the Maine
Individual Reinsurance Association by thefirst of each month beginning July 1, 20102009. The fund may
not lapse, but must be carried forward to carry out the purposes of this chapter.

Sec. L-2. PL 2007, c. 629, Pt. K isrepeaed.
PART M

Sec. M-1. 34-B MRSA 83861, sub-83, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 580, §2, isamended to read:

3.Involuntary treatment. Except for involuntary treatment ordered pursuant to the provisions
of section 3864, subsection 7-A, involuntary treatment of a patient at a designated nonstate mental health
institution or astate mental health institute who isan involuntarily committed patient under the provisions
of this subchapter may be ordered and administered only in conformance with the provisions of this
subsection. For the purposes of this subsection, involuntary treatment is limited to medication for the
treatment of mental illness and laboratory testing and medication for the monitoring and management
of side effects.

A. If the patient's primary treating physician proposes atreatment that the physician, in the exercise
of professional judgment, believesisin the best interest of the patient and if the patient lacksclinical
capacity to give informed consent to the proposed treatment and the patient is unwilling or unableto
comply with the proposed treatment, the patient’ s primary treating physician shall request inwriting
aclinical review of the proposed treatment by aclinical review panel. For a patient at a state mental
health institute, the request must be made to the superintendent of the institute or the designee of
the superintendent. For a patient at a designated nonstate mental health institution, the request must
be made to the chief administrative officer or the designee of the chief administrative officer. The
request must include the following information:
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(1) The name of the patient, the patient’s diagnosis and the unit on which the patient is
hospitalized;

(2) The date that the patient was committed to the institution or institute and the period of the
court-ordered commitment;

(3) A statement by the primary treating physician that the patient lacks capacity to giveinformed
consent to the proposed treatment. The statement must include documentation of a2nd opinion
that the patient lacks that capacity, given by a professional qualified to issue such an opinion
who does not provide direct careto the patient but who may work for theinstitute or institution;

(4) A description of the proposed course of treatment, including specific medications, routes of
administration and dose ranges, proposed alternative medications or routes of administration,
if any, and the circumstances under which any proposed alternative would be used,;

(5) A description of how the proposed treatment will benefit the patient and ameliorate
identified signs and symptoms of the patient's psychiatric illness;

(6) A listing of the known or anticipated risks and side effects of the proposed treatment and
how the prescribing physician will monitor, manage and minimize the risks and side effects,

(7) Documentation of consideration of any underlying medical condition of the patient that
contraindicates the proposed treatment; and

(8) Documentation of consideration of any advance health-care directive given in accordance
with Title 18-A, section 5-802 and any declaration regarding medical treatment of psychotic
disorders executed in accordance with section 11001.

B. The provisions of this paragraph apply to the appointment, duties and procedures of the clinical
review panel under paragraph A.

(1) Within one business day of receiving a request under paragraph A, the superintendent of
a state mental health institute or chief administrative officer of a designated nonstate mental
health institution or that person's designee shall appoint a clinical review panel of 2 or more
licensed professional staff who do not providedirect careto the patient. At least one person must
be a professional licensed to prescribe medication relevant to the patient's care and treatment.
At the time of appointment of the clinical review panel, the superintendent of a state menta
health institute or chief administrative officer of a designated nonstate mental health institution
or that person's designee shall notify the following persons in writing that the clinical review
panel will be convened:

(a) The primary treating physician;
Page 34



Public Law, Chapter 695, 123rd Legislature, Second Regular Session

(b) The director of the Office of Adult Mental Health Services within the department or
that person's designee;

(c) The patient's designated representative or attorney, if any;

(d) The State's designated federal protection and advocacy agency; and

(e) The patient. Notice to the patient must inform the patient that the clinical review panel
will be convened and of the right to assistance from a lay advisor, a no expense to the
patient, and the right to obtain an attorney at the patient's expense. The notice must include
contact information for requesting assistance from a lay advisor, who may be employed
by the institute or institution, and access to a telephone to contact a lay advisor must be
provided to the patient.

(2) Within 4 days of recelving arequest under paragraph A and no less than 24 hours before
the meeting of the clinical review panel, the superintendent of a state mental health institute or
chief administrative officer of a designated nonstate mental health institution or that person's
designee shall provide notice of the date, time and location of the meeting to the patient's
primary treating physician, the patient and any lay advisor or attorney.

(3) Theclinical review panel shall hold the meeting and any additional meetings as necessary,
reach a final determination and render a written decision ordering or denying involuntary
treatment.

(@) At the meeting, the clinical review panel shall receive information relevant to the
determination of the patient's capacity to give informed consent to treatment and the
need for treatment, review relevant portions of the patient's medical records, consult with
the physician requesting the treatment, review with the patient that patient's reasons for
refusing treatment, provide the patient and any lay advisor or attorney an opportunity to
ask questions of anyone presenting information to the clinical review panel at the meeting
and determine whether the requirementsfor ordering involuntary treatment have been met.

(b) All meetings of the clinical review panel must be open to the patient and any lay
advisor or attorney, except that any meetings held for the purposes of deliberating, making
findings and reaching final conclusions are confidential and not open to the patient and
any lay advisor or attorney.

(c) Theclinical review panel shall conduct its review in a manner that is consistent with
the patient's rights.
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(d) Involuntary treatment may not be approved and ordered if the patient affirmatively
demonstratesto the clinical review panel that if that patient possessed capacity, the patient
would have refused the treatment on religious grounds or on the basis of other previously
expressed convictions or beliefs.

(4) The clinical review panel may approve a request for involuntary treatment and order the
treatment if the clinical review panel finds, at a minimum:

(a) That the patient lacks the capacity to make an informed decision regarding treatment;

(b) That the patient is unable or unwilling to comply with the proposed treatment;

(c) That the need for the treatment outweighs the risks and side effects; and

(d) That the proposed treatment is the least intrusive appropriate treatment option.

(5) Theclinical review panel may make additional findings, including but not limited to findings
that:

(a) Failuretotreat theillnessislikely to produce lasting or irreparable harm to the patient;
or

(b) Without the proposed treatment the patient's illness or involuntary commitment may
be significantly extended without addressing the symptoms that cause the patient to pose
alikelihood of serious harm.

(6) The clinical review panel shall document its findings and conclusions, including whether
the potential benefits of the proposed treatment outweigh the potential risks.

C. The provisions of this paragraph govern the rights of a patient who is the subject of a clinical
review panel under paragraph A.

(1) The patient is entitled to the assistance of alay advisor without expense to the patient. The
patient is entitled to representation by an attorney at the patient’ s expense.

(2) The patient may review any records or documents considered by the clinical review panel.

(3) The patient may provide information orally and in writing to the clinical review panel and
may present witnesses.
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(4) The patient may ask questions of any person who providesinformation to theclinical review
panel.

(5) The patient and any lay advisor or attorney may attend all meetings of the clinical review
panel except for any private meetings authorized under paragraph B, subparagraph 3, division
(b).

D. If the clinical review panel under paragraph A approves the request for involuntary treatment,
the clinical review panel shall enter an order for the treatment in the patient's medical records and
immediately notify the superintendent of astate mental health institute or chief administrative officer
of adesignated nonstate mental health institution. The order takes effect:

(1) For apatient at a state mental health institute, one business day from the date of entry of
the order; or

(2) For apatient at a designated nonstate mental health institution, one business day from the
date of entry of the order, except that if the patient has requested review of the order by the
director of the Office of Adult Mental Health Services within the department under paragraph
F, subparagraph (2), the order takes effect one business day from the day on which the director
Issues a written decision.

E. The order for treatment under this subsection remains in effect for 120 days or until the end of
the period of commitment, whichever is sooner, unless atered by:

(1) An agreement to a different course of treatment by the primary treating physician and
patient;

(2) For apatient at a designated nonstate mental health institution, modification or vacation of
the order by thedirector of the Office of Adult Mental Health Serviceswithin the department; or

(3) An dlteration or stay of the order entered by the Superior Court after reviewing the entry of
the order by the clinical review panel on appeal under paragraph F.

F. The provisions of this paragraph apply to the review and appeal of an order of the clinical review
panel entered under paragraph B.

(1) Theorder of theclinical review panel at a state mental health instituteisfinal agency action
that may be appealed to the Superior Court in accordance with Rule 80C of the Maine Rules
of Civil Procedure.
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(2) The order of the clinical review panel at a designated nonstate mental health institution
may be reviewed by the director of the Office of Adult Mental Health Services within the
department or the designee of the director upon receipt of a written request from the patient
submitted no later than one day after the patient receives the order of the clinical review panel.
Within 3 business days of receipt of the request for review, the director or designee shall review
the full clinical review panel record and issue a written decision. The decision of the director
or designee may affirm the order, modify the order or vacate the order. The decision of the
director or designee takes effect one business day after the director or designee issues awritten
decision. The decision of the director or designee is final agency action that may be appealed
to the Superior Court in accordance with Rule 80C of the Maine Rules of Civil Procedure.

Emergency clause. Inview of the emergency cited in the preamble, thislegislation takes effect
when approved, except as otherwise indicated.

Effective April 24, 2008.
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