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Public Law
123rd Legislature
Second Regular Session

Chapter 607
H.P. 1455 - L.D. 2071

An Act To Amend Maine's Scallop Laws

Beit enacted by the People of the State of Maine asfollows:
PART A

Sec. A-1. 12 MRSA 86073-B isenacted to read:

8§ 6073-B. Harvester license exemption; scallop aquaculture

The holder of aleaseissued under section 6072, 6072-A or 6072-B or alicense issued under section
6072-C is exempt from any requirement under sections 6701, 6702 and 6703 to hold a separate license
for the removal, possession, transport or sale of scallops from the leased area or the licensed gear when
the final product form is the adductor muscle only. This exemption does not apply to scallops in any
other form.

Sec. A-2. 12 MRSA 86702, as amended by PL 2003, c. 20, Pt. WW, 8§14 and c. 248, 88, is
further amended to read:

8 6702. Scallop dragging license

1. License required. A person may not use a boat for dragging for scallops unless that boat
carriesperson holds a scallop beatdragging license issued by the commissioner and that boat is identified
on the license.

2. Licensed activity. A beatperson licensed under this section may be tiseetHfor dragginguse the
boat identified on the license to drag for scallops and te possess, ship, sell or transport shucked scallops
taken under the license. The license also authorizes the captain and crew members aboard the Heensed
boat identified on the license when engaged in dragging for scallops to undertake these activities, except
that the captain and crew members may not fish for or take scallops if the license holder is not aboard
that boat except as provided in subsection 2-A.

2-A. Exemptions.  Notwithstanding subsection 2, the commissioner may authorize a person
to fish for or take scallops from a boat when the person holding a scallop dragging license that contains
the name of that boat is not on board if:
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A. The holder of the scallop dragging license documents to the commissioner that an illness or
disability temporarily prevents the license holder from fishing for or taking scallops from that boat
and requests in writing to the commissioner that the commissioner authorize another person to use
that boat to fish for or take scallops; or

B. The boat named on the license of a license holder is temporarily inoperable because of an
accident or amechanical failure and the license holder reguests in writing to the commissioner that
the commissioner authorize the license holder to use another boat to fish for or take scallops.

3.Eligibility. A scallopbeatdragging license may beissued only to anindividual whoisaresident.

4. Per sonal use exception. Inany oneday, aperson licensed pursuant to section 6703 may take
or possess not more than 2-bushelsone bushel of shell scallops or 4-quarts2 quarts of shucked scallopsfor
personal use without a scallop dragging license under this section.

5. Fee. Thefeefor ascallop beatdragging licenseis $111.

6. Violation. A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a
forfeiturefine of not less than $100 nor more than $500 may be adjudged.

Sec. A-3. 12 MRSA 86703, sub-83, asamended by PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. F, §19 and affected
by Pt. X, 82, isfurther amended to read:

3.Licenselimitation; quantity. Inany oneday, the holder of anoncommercial scallop license
may not take or possess more than 2-bushelsone bushel of shell scallops or 4-quarts2 quarts of shucked
scallops.

Sec. A-4. 12 MRSA 86706 is enacted to read:
86706. Limited entry

1. Licensedigibility in 2009. The commissioner may not issue a 2009 hand fishing scallop
license or a 2009 scallop dragging license to aperson unless that person possessed ascallop licenseissued
pursuant to section 6701 or a scallop boat license issued pursuant to section 6702 in either:

A. The 2005, 2006, 2007 or 2008 license year; or

B. The 2008 license year prior to May 1, 2008.

2. License eligibility in subsequent years. _Except as provided in subsection 3, the
commissioner may not issue a hand fishing scallop license or a scallop dragging license to any personin
any year subsequent to 2009 unless that person possessed that license in the previous calendar year.

3. Scallop licenselimited entry system. Notwithstanding subsection 2, the commissioner
shall establish by rulealimited entry system under which a person who did not hold ahand fishing scallop
license or a scallop dragging license in the previous calendar year may become €ligible to obtain that
license. The rules for alimited entry systerm must include provisions for the method and administration
of the program. Rules adopted pursuant to this subsection are routine technical rules as defined in Title
5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.
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4. Repeal. Thissectionisrepeaed uly 1, 2012.

Sec. A-5. 12 MRSA 86721-A, sub-82, asreallocated by PL 2003, c. 520, §8, is amended
to read:

2. Primafacie evidence. Itisprimafacie evidence of possession of illegal scallopsif avessel
contains scallops less than the minimum shell size set by this section or the minimum shell size set by
rules adopted pursuant to this section while a scallop beatdragging license holder or crew member is
shucking scallops.

Sec. A-6. 12 MRSA 86721-A, sub-85, {B, asreallocated by PL 2003, c. 520, §8, isamended
to read:

B. For the 2nd and each subsequent offense, a fine of $250 is imposed, al scallops on board may
be seized and the scall op beatdragging license may be suspended for one year.

Sec. A-7. 12 MRSA 86723, as amended by PL 1981, c. 91, is repealed and the following
enacted in its place:

86723. Draglimitsin Blue Hill Bay

1. Drag limit. Except as provided by rule pursuant to section 6727-A, subsection 2, a person
may not fish for or take scallops with any one combination of scallop drags in excess of 8 feet, 6 inches
in width, measured from the extreme outside edge of the mouth of the drag or drags, in Blue Hill Bay
above or north of aline drawn from Bass Harbor Head in the Town of Tremont westerly to Pond Island
and thence to Naskeag Point in the Town of Brooklin.

2. Violation. A personwho violatesthissection commitsacivil violation for which thefollowing
penalties apply:

A. For thefirst offense, amandatory fine of $500 isimposed and all scallops on board may be seized:;

B. For the 2nd offense, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on board may be
seized; and

C. For the 3rd and subsequent offenses, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on
board may be seized. This penalty is imposed in addition to the penalty imposed under section
6728-B.

Sec. A-8. 12 MRSA 86726, sub-81, asamended by PL 2001, c. 272, §15, is further amended
to read:

1. Minimum size. H-isunltawful-to-utilizeThe minimum ring size is 3 1/2 inches except as
provided by rule. The commissioner shall establish by rule a minimum ring size that may not be smaller
than 4 inches in diameter. A person may not use a drag to fish for or take scallops in the territorial
waters with rings that measure |ess than:the ring size provided pursuant to this subsection. Rules adopted
pursuant to this subsection are routine technical rules pursuant to Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.
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Sec. A-9. 12 MRSA 86727, asamended by PL 2001, c. 272, §16, isrepealed.
Sec. A-10. 12 MRSA 86728, sub-83, asenacted by PL 2001, c. 192, &1, is repeal ed.
Sec. A-11. 12 MRSA 86728, sub-83-A isenacted to read:

3-A. Violation. A person who violates this section commits a civil violation. The following
penalties apply:

A. For the first offense, a mandatory fine of $500 is imposed and all scallops on board may be
seized; and

B. For the 2nd offense, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on board may be
seized; and

C. For the 3rd and subsequent offenses, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on
board may be seized and the scallop dragging license may be suspended for one year. This penalty
isimposed in addition to the penalty imposed under section 6728-B.

Sec. A-12. 12 MRSA 86729, sub-81, asenacted by PL 2003, c. 319, §2, is amended to read:

1. License surcharges. The following surcharges are assessed on licenses issued by the
department:

A. For ahand fishing scallop license, $100;

B. For ascallop draggers license, $100; and

C. For ascallop diving tender license, $50:; and
D

. For anoncommercial scallop license, $40.

Sec. A-13. 12 MRSA 86729-A, sub-81, asenacted by PL 2003, c. 319, §2, is amended to
read:

1. Uses of fund. The commissioner shall use the fund for research directly related to
scallop fishery management information needs, for implementation of scallop management measures
and for reporting to licensed scallop harvesters on the results of research and the use of fund
revenues. The commissioner may authorize the expenditure of money in the fund for research and
development programs that address the restoration, development or conservation of scallop resources.
The commissioner shall consult with the Scallop Advisory Council under section 6729-B before deciding
upon research projects and awarding grants from the fund. The fund may also be used for support of the
Scallop Advisory Council, including reimbursement for travel expenses.

Sec. A-14. Development of astrategic plan torebuild and manage M aine'sscallop
I esour ce. The Scallop Advisory Council, referred to in this section as "the council," and the Department
of Marine Resources, referred to in this section as "the department,” shall develop a comprehensive
strategic plan that will rebuild Maine's scallop resource and create a sustainable scallop fishery. Maine's
scallop stocks are in sharp decline, and the plan must propose steps that are commensurate with the dire
status of thefishery. The plan must provide short-term and long-term bench marksfor measuring progress
in rebuilding the scallop stock over the entire coastline of the state. The council and the department shall

use the following as a guide for discussion in the development of the strategic plan:
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1. Entry restrictions to reduce fishing efforts, including, but not limited to, limited entry or a
moratorium on the issuance of scallop licenses,

2. Management options for consideration, including, but not limited to:
A. The complete closure of the scallop fishery to allow the resource to recover;

B. Closure of the scallop fishery except for Cobscook Bay to allow for resource recovery outside of
Cobscook Bay with measures to protect scallops in Cobscook Bay from overfishing;

C. Rotational management in which asignificant portion of the coast is closed on a 3-year or 4-year
rotation until abiological target is achieved,

D. Management of the scallop and urchin fishery, together with potential for using the current sea
urchin assessment zones;

E. Creation of scallop seed conservation areas to allow scallops to mature and spawn for the benefit
of the entire coast, taking into consideration all cable areas and the size of the areas needed to be
effective and enforceable;

F. Sizerestrictions, including a maximum and minimum shell size that will enhance fecundity rates,
and

G. Gear restrictions that include but are not limited to changes in drag configuration to minimize
Impacts on habitat and damage to undersized and oversized scallops, reduction in drag cable size
and ring size and larger minimum mesh size for the upper bag; and

3. Other options for consideration, including, but not limited to, adjustments to the scallop fishing
season, aban on Sunday fishing or weekend fishing and daily catch and possession limitsfor commercial
and noncommercial fisheries.

The council and department shall jointly report the strategic plan, including findings,
recommendations and necessary implementing legislation and rulesto be adopted to implement the plan,
to the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over marine resources matters no
later than January 5, 2009. The joint standing committee may submit legislation to the First Regular
Session of the 124th Legidlature relating to the report and strategic plan.

PART B

Sec. B-1. 12 MRSA 86701, sub-86, asenacted by PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, 840 and affected
by Pt. C, 81, isamended to read:

6. V|0I atl on A person who VIO| atesthis sectlon commits acivil violation for which aforfeiture
Y .the following penalties apply:

A. For thefirst offense, amandatory fine of $500 isimposed and all scallops on board may be seized:;

B. For the 2nd offense, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on board may be

seized; and

C. For the 3rd and subsequent offenses, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on
board may be seized. This penalty is imposed in addition to the penalty imposed under section
6728-B.
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Sec. B-2. 12 MRSA 86702, sub-86, as enacted by PL 2001, c. 421, Pt. B, 841 and affected
by Pt. C, 81, isamended to read:

6. VIOI atl on. A person who violates thls sectlon commits acivil violation for which aferfeiture
% & y :the following penalties apply:

A. For thefirst offense, amandatory fine of $500 isimposed and all scallops on board may be seized:;

B. For the 2nd offense, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on board may be
seized; and

C. For the 3rd and subsequent offenses, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on
board may be seized. This penalty is imposed in addition to the penalty imposed under section
6728-B.

Sec. B-3. 12 MRSA 86703, sub-85, as enacted by PL 1999, c. 771, Pt. B, §9 and affected
by Pt. D, 881 and 2, is amended to read:

5. Penalty A person who viol atathls sectlon commits acivil violation for which aferfeiture-of
n$ ! n $ the following penalties apply:

'a falata
| ougca.

A. For thefirst offense, amandatory fine of $500 isimposed and all scallops on board may be seized:;

B. For the 2nd offense, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on board may be
seized; and

C. For the 3rd and subsequent offenses, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on
board may be seized. This penalty is imposed in addition to the penalty imposed under section
6728-B.

Sec. B-4. 12 MRSA 86721-A, sub-85, asrealocated by PL 2003, c. 520, §8, is amended
to read:

5. Violation. A person who violates this section commits a civil violation—Fhefor which the
following penalties apply-:

A. For the first offense, a mandatory fine of $250$500 is imposed and al scallops on board may
be seized:;

B. For the 2nd and-each-subsequent offense a man datory f|ne of $250$750 is |mposedand all
scallops on board may be seized a D boal

C. For the 3rd and subsequent offenses, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on
board may be seized. This penalty is imposed in addition to the penalty imposed under section
6728-B.

Sec. B-5. 12 M RSA 86722, asamended by PL 2001, c. 272, §14, isrepeaed and the following
enacted in its place:

8 6722. Scallop season
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1. Scallop fishing season.  Unless modified by requlation adopted under section 6171-A, a
person may not fish for or take scallopsin the territorial waters from April 16th to November 30th.

2. Violations. A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which the
following penalties apply:

A. For thefirst offense, amandatory fine of $500 isimposed and all scallops on board may be seized:;

B. For the 2nd offense, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on board may be
seized; and

C. For the 3rd and subsequent offenses, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on
board may be seized. This penalty is imposed in addition to the penalty imposed under section
6728-B.

Sec. B-6. 12 MRSA 86724, asenacted by PL 1977, c. 661, 85, is repealed and the following
enacted in its place:

8 6724. Otter trawl in Penobscot River

1. Prohibition. A person may not fish for or take scallops by use of an otter trawl inside and
upriver of aline drawn from the lighthouse on Dice Head, Castineto Turtle Head on |slesboro and thence
to the town wharf at Bayside, Northport.

2. Violations. A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which the
following penalties apply:

A. For thefirst offense, amandatory fine of $500 isimposed and all scall ops on board may be seized:;

B. For the 2nd offense, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on board may be
seized; and

C. For the 3rd and subsequent offenses, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on
board may be seized. This penalty is imposed in addition to the penalty imposed under section
6728-B.

Sec. B-7. 12 MRSA 86725, as enacted by PL 1977, c. 661, 85, is repealed and the following
enacted in its place:

8 6725. Possession of illegal scallops

1. Prohibition. A person may not possess, ship, transport, buy or sell scallopstaken in violation
of this subchapter.

2. Violations. A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which the
following penalties apply:

A. For thefirst offense, amandatory fine of $500isimposed and all scallops on board may be seized:;

B. For the 2nd offense, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on board may be
seized; and
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C. For the 3rd and subsequent offenses, a mandatory fine of $750 is imposed and all scallops on
board may be seized. This penalty is imposed in addition to the penalty imposed under section
6728-B.

Sec. B-8. 12 M RSA 86728-B is enacted to read:
8 6728-B. Habitual violations

The commissioner shall suspend the hand fishing scallop license or other license issued under this
Part authorizing the taking of scallops of any license holder adjudicated or convicted in court of a 3rd
or subsequent violation of this subchapter. The suspension must be for at least one year from the date of
conviction and may be for up to 3 years.
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