Public Law, Chapter 589, 123rd Legislature, Second Regular Session

PLEASE NOTE: The Office of the Revisor of Statutes cannot perform research, provide
legal advice, or interpret Maine law. For legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.

Public Law
123rd Legislature
Second Regular Session
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H.P. 1582 - L.D. 2216

An Act To Streamline and Ensure Adequate
Funding for the Bureau of Air Quality

Beit enacted by the People of the State of Maine asfollows:
Sec. 1. 38 MRSA 8353-A, sub-81-A, asenacted by PL 1993, c. 412, §2, is amended to read:

1-A. Annual fee surcharge. Beginning November 1, 19942008, alicensee shall pay an annual
fee surcharge of $10$2 per every 1,000 air quality units as defined in section 582, subsection 11-E.
The minimum revenue threshold for the annual fee surcharge is established at $1,250,000 per year. The
commissioner may increase the annual fee surcharge to up to $4 per every 1,000 air quality unitsif the
annual revenue derived from thisannual fee surchargeislessthan $1,250,000 per year. The commissioner
shall report to the joint standing committee of the L egislature having jurisdiction over natural resources
matters by January 15, 2010 and every 2 years thereafter on any fee adjustment and the justification for
the fee adjustment and the adequacy of the minimum revenue threshold and its ability to support the
long-term sustainability of state air quality protection and improvement activities.

Sec. 2. 38 MRSA 8353-A, sub-83, asamended by PL 1993, c. 412, §3, is further amended
to read:

ehangeeeﬁheanﬂwersatydateThe effectlve date of alicenseis deemed to be the niversary date The

license fee for alicense with an anniversary date in January, February or March must be paid by the end
of February. The license fee for alicense with an anniversary date in April, May or June must be paid
by the end of May. The license fee for alicense with an anniversary date in July, August or September
must be paid by the end of August. The license fee for a license with an anniversary date in October,
November or December must be paid by the end of November. The annual fee for new applications must
be estimated and paid at the time of filing the application. When the processing of the application is
complete, the final annual fee is determined. Any additional amount is due prior to the issuance of the
license. Any overpayment must be refunded If the application is denled 50% of the initial annual fee
must be refunded. ffectiv Sary

Sec. 3. 38 MRSA 8353-A, sub-88, asenacted by PL 1991, c. 384, §8 and affected by §16,
is amended to read:
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8. Nonpayment of fee. Failure to pay the annual fee within 3060 days of the anniversary date
of alicenseis sufficient grounds for revocation of the license under section 341-D, subsection 3.

Sec. 4. 38 MRSA 8582, sub-811-D, asenacted by PL 1993, c. 412, §7 and amended by PL
2003, c. 689, Pt. B, 86, isfurther amended to read:

11-D. Toxicity score. "AirqualityToxicity score’ means a score given to a hazardous air
poI lutant by the Department of Health and Human Serwc&ba%denthesumeﬁqﬂahtatweseer%phjsthe

M ane Center for Dlsease Control and Prevention.

Sec. 5. 38 MRSA 8582, sub-811-E, asenacted by PL 1993, c. 412, §7 and amended by PL
2003, c. 689, Pt. B, 86, is further amended to read:

11-E. Air quality units. "Air quality units' means the result-of the Department of Health-and
Human-Services toxicity scorefor ahazardousair pollutant multiplied by the estimated emissions of that
hazardous air pollutant.

Sec. 6. 38 MRSA 8589, sub-82, as enacted by PL 1991, c. 384, 89 and affected by 8§16, is
amended to read:

2. Stack tests. A personisnot required to conduct stack testsfor chlorine or chlorine dioxide more
frequently than once every 5 years unless visible emissions, operating parameters or other information
indicates the source may be operating out of compliance with any applicable emission standard or
unless there are more stringent federal requirements. A person is not required to conduct stack tests for
particul ate matter on a source monitored by a continuous monitoring device for opacity as specified by 40
Code of Federal Regulations, Part 60, Appendix B, specification 1 or appropriate surrogate parameters
as required by the commissioner more frequently than once every 25 years unless visible emissions,
operating parameters or another—causeother information indicates the source may be operating out of
compliance with any applicable emission standard or unlessthere are more stringent federal requirements.
If visible emissions, operating parameters or other information indicates potential honcompliance with
an air emission standard or if there are more stringent federal requirements, the department may require
additional stack tests.

Sec. 7. Department of Environmental Protection toinstall air quality monitor in

the Town of Bradley. The Department of Environmental Protection, or its designee, shall ingtall,
maintain and oversee one or more air quality monitors in the Town of Bradley for a period of no less
than one year and no more than 2 years unless a violation of the laws governing ambient air standards
isidentified through such a monitor.

Sec. 8. Appropriations and allocations. The following appropriations and allocations are
made.

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION, DEPARTMENT OF
Maine Environmental Protection Fund 0421

Initiative: Allocates funds for the installation and maintenance of air quality monitors in the Town of
Bradley.
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OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE FUNDS 2007-08 2008-09
Capital Expenditures $0 $75,000
OTHER SPECIAL REVENUE FUNDS TOTAL $0 $75,000

Sec. 9. Effective date. This Act takes effect November 1, 2008.

Effective November 1, 2008.
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