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An Act To Amend the Laws Relating to the Department of Corrections

Beit enacted by the People of the State of Maine asfollows:

Sec. 1. 15 MRSA 8891, as amended by PL 2007, c. 277, 81, is repealed and the following
enacted in its place:

8 891. Dismissal on satisfaction of privateinjury

1. General rule. Whenapersonischarged with aClassD or ClassE crime, or isthe subject of a
juvenile petition aleging ajuvenile crime that would constitute a Class D or Class E crimeif the juvenile
involved were an adult, for which the party injured has a remedy by civil action, if the injured party
appears before the court and in writing acknowledges satisfaction for the injury, the court, on payment
of al costs, may dismiss the charge.

2. Exceptions.  This section does not apply to the crime or juvenile crime of refusing to submit
to arrest or detention asdefined by Title 17-A, section 751-A, to any crime or juvenile crimein which the
aleged victim is afamily or household member as defined in Title 19-A, chapter 101 or to any juvenile
who has previously been adjudicated of ajuvenile crime or who has previously obtained relief under this
section with respect to ajuvenile petition.

Sec. 2. 15 MRSA 8892, ascorrected by RR 2007, c. 1, §7, isrepealed and the following enacted
inits place:

§ 892. Bar tocivil action

An order of dismissal entered pursuant to section 891 bars all further remedy by civil action for
such aninjury.

Sec. 3. 15 MRSA 83314, sub-87, asenacted by PL 2007, c. 196, 85, is amended to read:

7. Enforcement of a dispositional order or order to appear. After notice and hearing
and in accordance with the Maine Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 66, the court may exercise its inherent
contempt power by way of a plenary contempt proceeding involving punitive sanctions, accompanied
or unaccompanied by remedial sanctions, to enforce the disposition ordered following an adjudication
for ajuvenile crime or to enforce any order requiring the appearance of a juvenile before the court. Any

confinement imposed as a punitive or remedia sanction upon a person who has not attained 18 years of
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age may not exceed 30 days and must be served in a facility approved or operated by the Department
of Corrections exclusively for juveniles. Any confinement imposed as a punitive or remedial sanction
upon a person who has attained 18 years of age, if to be served in afacility approved or operated by the
Department of Corrections exclusively for juveniles, may not exceed 30 days. To enforce the disposition
ordered following an adjudication for ajuvenile crime defined in section 3103, subsection 1, paragraph
B or C upon a person who has not attained 18 years of age, the court shall, at the time of the disposition,
provide written notice to the juvenile of the court's authority to enforce the dispositional order through an
exercise of itsinherent contempt power and that a contempt order could include an order of confinement
for up to 30 days as a punitive sanction and for up to 30 days as a remedia sanction. NethingExcept as
explicitly set out in this subsection, nothing in this subsection affects the court's ability to exercise its
contempt powers for persons who have attained 18 years of age.

Sec. 4. 34-A MRSA 83036-A, sub-83, YA, asenacted by PL 1991, c. 845, 84, is amended
to read:

A. The prisoner must be involved in a program of work or education that is approved by the
commissioner together with any treatment program that the commissioner might require. The
commissioner may waive the requirement of involvement in a program of work or education for a
prisoner who isinvolved in an approved full-time treatment program.

Sec. 5. 34-A MRSA 83046, asamended by PL 2001, c. 386, §14, is repeal ed.
Sec. 6. 34-A MRSA 83046-A isenacted to read:

8 3046-A. Funeral and deathbed visits

1. Family member. Atthediscretion of and under conditions prescribed by the commissioner,
a client confined in a correctional or detention facility may attend the funeral of the client's spouse or
domestic partner or the client's parent, child, sibling, grandparent or grandchild, whether the relationship
is natural, adoptive, foster or through marriage, and may be permitted deathbed visits to any of those
personsif the funera or visit is held within the State.

2. Another person. At thediscretion of and under conditions prescribed by the commissioner,
aclient confined in acorrectional or detention facility may attend the funeral of or be permitted adeathbed
visit to another person if the funeral or visit is held within the State. The commissioner may not del egate

this authority.

3. Certification of terminal illness. Before adeathbed visit is permitted under this section,
terminal illness must be certified to the commissioner by the attending physician.

4. Costs. Theclient, if able, shall pay the cost of transportation under this section and the per
diem compensation of the accompanying officersif the officers are required by the commissioner.

Sec. 7. 34-A MRSA 83805, sub-82, asamended by PL 2005, c. 507, §22, is further amended
to read:
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designees, upon petition by the commissioner or the commissioner's designee and after hearing, the court
finds by a preponderance of the evidence that the person is more appropriately a subject for intensive
treatment services that are available and provided by or through the Department of Health and Human
Services. Prior to the hearing, the court shall provide notice of the hearing in writing or orally to the
juvenile, the juvenile's parents, the juvenile's guardian or legal custodian, the attorney for the State and
the Department of Health and Human Services.

Sec. 8. 34-A MRSA 84104, sub-82, asamended by PL 2005, c. 507, §26, isfurther anended
to read:

2. L|m|tat|ons A person may not be detamed or confined in or commltted to the facmty if

designees, upon petltlon by the commissioner or the commissioner sdes gnee and after hearl ng, the court
finds by a preponderance of the evidence that the person is more appropriately a subject for intensive
treatment services that are available and provided by or through the Department of Health and Human
Services. Prior to the hearing, the court shall provide notice of the hearing in writing or orally to the
juvenile, the juvenil€e's parents, the juvenile's guardian or legal custodian, the attorney for the State and
the Department of Health and Human Services.

Sec. 9. 34-A MRSA 87003, asenacted by PL 1983, c. 459, 86, is repeal ed.

Sec. 10. 34-A MRSA 87005, asenacted by PL 1983, c. 459, 86, is repealed.
Sec. 11. 34-A MRSA 87006, asenacted by PL 1983, c. 459, §6, is repealed.
Sec. 12. 34-A MRSA 87007, asenacted by PL 1983, c. 459, 86, is repealed.
Sec. 13. 34-A MRSA 87008, as enacted by PL 1983, c. 459, 86, is repealed.

Effective June 30, 2008
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