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An Act To Extend the Application of Certain
Rebuttable Presumptions in the Child Protection Laws

Beit enacted by the People of the State of Maine asfollows:

Sec. 1. 18-A MRSA 89-304, sub-§(b-1), (1), asenacted by PL 2005, c. 366, 81, isamended
to read:

(1). Hasbeen convicted of an offenselisted in Title 19-A, section 1653, subsection 6-A, paragraph A
inwhich the victim wasaminor at the time of the offense and the petitioner was at least 5 years older
than the minor at the time of the offense except that, if the offense was gross sexual assault under
Title 17-A, section 253, subsection 1, paragraph B or C, or an offense in another jurisdiction that
involves conduct that is substantially similar to that contained in Title 17-A, section 253, subsection
1, paragraph B or C, and the minor victim submitted as a result of compulsion, the presumption
applies regardless of the ages of the petitioner and the minor victim at the time of the offense; or

Sec. 2. 19-A MRSA 81653, sub-86-A, 1A, asamended by PL 2005, c. 366, 82, is further
amended to read:

A. For the purposes of this section, "child-related sexual offense” means the following sexual
offensesif, at the time of the commission of the offense, the victim was under 18 years of age:

(1) Sexual exploitation of aminor, under Title 17-A, section 282;

(2) Gross sexual assault, under Title 17-A, section 253;

(3) Sexual abuse of aminor, under Title 17-A, section 254,

(4) Unlawful sexual contact, under Title 17-A, section 255-A or former section 255;
(5) Visual sexual aggression against a child, under Title 17-A, section 256;

(6) Sexual misconduct with a child unngr 14l years of age, under Title 17-A, section 258;
age
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(6-A) Solicitation of a child by computer to commit a prohibited act, under Title 17-A, section
259; or

(7) An offense in another jurlwlctlommdﬂdﬂWﬁ%Pmﬁw%e%h%eH&&Hedemk

that involves
conduct that is substantlallv similar to that contal ned in subparagraph (1) ), (3), (4), (5,

(6) or (6-A). For purposes of this subparagraph, "another jurisdiction” means the Federal
Government, the United States military, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto
Rico, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the United States Virgin Islands,
Guam, American Samoa and each of the several states except Maine. "Another jurisdiction”
also means the Passamaguoddy Tribe when that tribe has acted pursuant to Title 30, section
6209-A, subsection 1, paragraph A or B and the Penobscot Nation when that tribe has acted
pursuant to Title 30, section 6209-B, subsection 1, paragraph A or B.

Sec. 3. 19-A MRSA 81653, sub-86-B, A, asenacted by PL 2005, c. 366, §3, is amended
to read:

A. Has been convicted of an offense listed in Title 19-A;-section-1653; subsection 6-A, paragraph A
in which the victim was a minor at the time of the offense and the person was at least 5 years older
than the minor at the time of the offense except that, if the offense was gross sexual assault under
Title 17-A, section 253, subsection 1, paragraph B or C, or an offense in another jurisdiction that
involves conduct that is substantially similar to that contained in Title 17-A, section 253, subsection
1, paragraph B or C, and the minor victim submitted as a result of compulsion, the presumption
applies regardless of the ages of the person and the minor victim at the time of the offense; or

Sec. 4. 19-A MRSA 81803, sub-88, A, as enacted by PL 2005, c. 366, 84, is amended
to read:

A. Has been convicted of an offense listed in Fitle-19-A; section 1653, subsection 6-A, paragraph
A in which the victim was a minor at the time of the offense and the grandparent was at least 5
years older than the minor at the time of the offense except that, if the offense was gross sexual
assault under Title 17-A, section 253, subsection 1, paragraph B or C, or an offense in another
jurisdiction that involves conduct that is substantially similar to that contained in Title 17-A, section
253, subsection 1, paragraph B or C, and the minor victim submitted as a result of compulsion, the
presumption applies regardless of the ages of the grandparent and the minor victim at the time of
the offense; or

Sec. 5. 22 MRSA 84005-E, sub-83, YA, as amended by PL 2007, c. 371, 82, is further
amended to read:

A. Hasbeen convicted of an offenselisted in Title 19-A, section 1653, subsection 6-A, paragraph A
in which the victim was aminor at the time of the offense and the relative was at least 5 years older
than the minor at the time of the offense except that, if the offense was gross sexual assault under
Title 17-A, section 253, subsection 1, paragraph B or C, or an offense in another jurisdiction that
involves conduct that is substantially similar to that contained in Title 17-A, section 253, subsection
1, paragraph B or C, and the minor victim submitted as a result of compulsion, the presumption
applies regardless of the ages of the relative and the minor victim at the time of the offense; or
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Sec. 6. 22 MRSA 84035, sub-82-A, A, as enacted by PL 2005, c. 366, §7, is amended

toread:

A. That the person seeking custody or contact with the child would create a situation of jeopardy
for the child if any contact were to be permitted and that contact is not in the best interest of the
child if the court finds that the person:

(1) Has been convicted of an offense listed in Title 19-A, section 1653, subsection 6-A,
paragraph A in which the victim was a minor at the time of the offense and the person was at
least 5 years older than the minor at the time of the offense except that, if the offense was gross
sexual assault under Title 17-A, section 253, subsection 1, paragraph B or C, or an offense in
another jurisdiction that involves conduct that is substantially similar to that contained in Title
17-A, section 253, subsection 1, paragraph B or C, and the minor victim submitted asaresult of
compulsion, the presumption applies regardless of the ages of the person and the minor victim
at the time of the offense; or

(2) Has been adjudicated in an action under Title 22, chapter 1071 of sexually abusing a person
who was aminor at the time of the abuse.

The person seeking custody or contact with the child may produce evidenceto rebut the presumption;

and

Effective June 30, 2008
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