§385. Persons under 18 years; payment of prizes

If the person entitled to a prize on any winning ticket is under 18 years of age, the director or the director's designee may make payment in the amount of the prize to the minor by a check made payable to an adult member of the minor's family or a guardian as custodian of the minor or by an electronic funds transfer to any financial institution to an account in the name of an adult member of the minor's family or guardian as custodian for the minor. The person named as custodian has the same duties and powers as a person designated as a custodian in a manner prescribed by the Maine Uniform Transfers to Minors Act. For purposes of this section, the terms "adult member of the minor's family," "custodian" and "financial institution" have the same meanings as set out in that Act. The director or the director's designee is relieved of all further liability upon payment of a prize to a minor pursuant to this section. [PL 2013, c. 352, §3 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 505, §2 (NEW). RR 1993, c. 1, §18 (COR). PL 2013, c. 352, §3 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.