§4156. Responsibilities of purchaser

To obtain the remedies provided in section 4155, the purchaser has the following responsibilities with respect to an animal with a health problem. [PL 1995, c. 589, §1 (NEW).]

1. Veterinary diagnosis. The purchaser must notify the seller, within 2 business days, of the diagnosis by a veterinarian of a health problem and provide the seller with the name and telephone number of the veterinarian and a copy of the veterinarian report on the animal. [PL 2007, c. 702, §28 (AMD).]

2. Refund. If the purchaser wishes to receive a full refund for the animal, the purchaser must return the animal no later than 2 business days after receipt of a written statement from a veterinarian indicating that the animal is unfit due to a health problem. With respect to a dead animal, the purchaser must provide the seller with a written statement from a veterinarian indicating that the animal died from a health problem that existed on or before the receipt of the animal by the purchaser. This subsection does not apply to a refund requested pursuant to section 4155, subsection 3, paragraph D. [PL 2019, c. 90, §4 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1995, c. 589, §1 (NEW). PL 2007, c. 702, §§28, 29 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 90, §4 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.