§3970-A. Sale and importation of juvenile ferrets

1. Prohibition on sale. A person, firm, corporation or other business entity may not sell or offer for sale or resale in the State any ferret that is less than 8 weeks of age as determined by examination for adult canine dentition.

[PL 2003, c. 262, §1 (NEW).]

2. Prohibition on importation. A person, firm, corporation or other business entity may not ship or bring into the State any ferret that is less than 8 weeks of age as determined by examination for adult canine dentition unless that ferret is transported with its mother.

[PL 2003, c. 262, §1 (NEW).]

3. Penalty. A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a fine not to exceed \$100 per violation may be adjudged.

[PL 2003, c. 262, §1 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 262, §1 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.