§609. Compensation limits

Compensation for partial or total incapacity or death from occupational disease is payable as provided in sections 212, 213 and 215. Compensation is not payable for incapacity by reason of occupational diseases unless the incapacity results within 3 years after the last injurious exposure to the occupational disease in the employment. [PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. A, §8 (NEW); PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. A, §89-11 (AFF).]

The 3-year limitation under this section does not apply to a full-time firefighter who files a claim for an occupationally related cancer under this chapter and whose last injurious exposure to a carcinogen in the employer's employment occurred after January 1, 1985. For the purposes of this section, "full-time firefighter" means a regular full-time member, active or retired, of a municipal fire department if that person has aided in the extinguishment of fires, whether or not that person had administrative duties or other duties as a member of the municipal fire department. [RR 1993, c. 1, §142 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1991, c. 885, §A8 (NEW). PL 1991, c. 885, §§A9-11 (AFF). RR 1993, c. 1, §142 (COR).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.