§314. Arbitration

Any case for which an application for a hearing has been filed may be heard by an arbitrator mutually agreed upon in writing by the parties. [PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. A, §8 (NEW); PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. A, §§9-11 (AFF).]

1. Evidence. An arbitrator shall admit evidence in accordance with section 309, subsection 2. [PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. A, §8 (NEW); PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. A, §§9-11 (AFF).]

2. Testimony. Testimony must be taken under oath and a record of the arbitration must be made. Any party, at that party's expense, may provide for a written transcript of the proceedings. The cost of any transcription ordered by the arbitrator for the arbitrator's own use must be paid for by the board. [PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. A, §8 (NEW); PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. A, §§9-11 (AFF).]

3. Location of arbitration. The arbitrator shall conduct the hearing in the county in which the injury occurred or at a place agreed upon by all of the parties.

[PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. A, §8 (NEW); PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. A, §§9-11 (AFF).]

4. Arbitration decision. The arbitrator shall render the arbitration decision within 30 days after the close of the arbitration or the receipt of briefs, if required. The decision must be in writing, signed by the arbitrator and include a written opinion stating the arbitrator's findings of fact and conclusions of law. The decision must be filed with the board within 3 days of entry of the decision by the arbitrator. [PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. A, §8 (NEW); PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. A, §§9-11 (AFF).]

5. Record. The decision is part of the record of the arbitration proceeding under this section. [PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. A, §8 (NEW); PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. A, §§9-11 (AFF).]

6. Finality. The findings of fact made by the arbitrator acting within the arbitrator's powers, in the absence of fraud, are conclusive. If the arbitrator expressly finds that any party has or has not sustained the party's burden of proof, that finding is considered a conclusion of law and is reviewable in accordance with section 322. Any party may appeal the decision of the arbitrator to the Law Court pursuant to section 322 within 20 days of receipt of notice of the filing of the decision by the arbitrator. [PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. A, §8 (NEW); PL 1991, c. 885, Pt. A, §§9-11 (AFF).]

7. Fee; rules. The board shall by rule provide for the amount of the fee to be paid to the arbitrator by the board and establish administrative processes to review, adopt and monitor arbitration plans. [PL 1995, c. 105, §1 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1991, c. 885, §A8 (NEW). PL 1991, c. 885, §§A9-11 (AFF). PL 1995, c. 105, §1 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.