§1077. Purchaser's failure to pay in 20 days voids sale

If the purchaser of real estate sold for taxes under section 1074 fails to pay the tax collector within 20 days after the sale of the amount bid by him, the sale shall be void, and the municipality in which such sale was made shall be deemed to be the purchaser of the real estate so sold, the same as if purchased by some one in behalf of the municipality under section 1082. If a municipality becomes a purchaser under this section, the deed to it shall set forth the fact that a sale was duly made, the amount bid for the real estate included in said deed, and that the purchaser failed to pay the amount bid within 20 days after the sale. The said deed shall confer upon said municipality the same rights and duties as if it had been the purchaser under section 1082.

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.