## §3734. Members

**1. Incorporators are members.** Each incorporator of a cooperative is a member of the cooperative, but no other person may become a member unless that person agrees to use transmission and distribution service or other services furnished by the cooperative when they are made available through its facilities.

[PL 1999, c. 398, Pt. A, §89 (AMD); PL 1999, c. 398, Pt. A, §§104, 105 (AFF).]

**2. Requirements of membership.** Any member of a cooperative who agrees to use transmission and distribution service ceases to be a member if that member does not use transmission and distribution service supplied by the cooperative within 6 months after it is made available or if transmission and distribution service is not made available by the cooperative within 2 years after the member becomes a member or such lesser period as the bylaws of the cooperative may provide.

[PL 1999, c. 398, Pt. A, §89 (AMD); PL 1999, c. 398, Pt. A, §§104, 105 (AFF).]

**3. Joint membership.** A husband and wife may hold a joint membership in a cooperative. [PL 1987, c. 141, Pt. A, §6 (NEW).]

**4.** Membership not transferable. Membership in a cooperative is not transferable, except as provided in the bylaws.

[PL 1987, c. 141, Pt. A, §6 (NEW).]

**5.** Additional qualifications. The bylaws may prescribe additional qualifications and limitations in respect to membership.

[PL 1987, c. 141, Pt. A, §6 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 141, §A6 (NEW). PL 1999, c. 398, §A89 (AMD). PL 1999, c. 398, §§A104,105 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.