## §2154. When administrator must honor claim for property

**1.** Administrator shall pay claim. The administrator shall pay or deliver property to a claimant under section 2153, subsection 1 if the administrator receives evidence sufficient to establish to the satisfaction of the administrator that the claimant is the owner of the property. [PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]

**2.** Approve or deny claim within 90 days. Not later than 90 days after a claim is filed and completed under section 2153, subsection 1, the administrator shall approve or deny the claim and give the claimant, or professional investigator licensed under Title 32, chapter 89 under an agreement with the claimant pursuant to subchapter 13, notice in a record of the decision. A claim is complete when a claimant has provided all the information and documentation requested by the administrator necessary to prove legal ownership of the property.

[PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]

3. Claim denied; procedure; amended claim. If the claim is denied under subsection 2:

A. The administrator shall inform the claimant, or professional investigator under an agreement with the claimant pursuant to subchapter 13, of the reason for the denial; and [PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]

B. The claimant, or professional investigator under an agreement with the claimant pursuant to subchapter 13, may file an amended claim with the administrator or commence an action under section 2156. [PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]

[PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]

**4. Claim deemed denied.** If the administrator does not take action on a claim during the 90-day period under subsection 2, the claim is deemed denied.

[PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.