§2120. Periods of limitation and repose

1. Holder's duty to pay or deliver. Expiration, before, on or after October 1, 2019, of a period of limitation on an owner's right to receive or recover property, whether specified by contract, statute or court order, does not prevent the property from being presumed abandoned or affect the duty of a holder under this Act to file a report or pay or deliver property to the administrator. [PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]

2. Proceeding within 5 years after nonfraudulent report. The administrator may not commence an action or proceeding to enforce this Act with respect to the reporting, payment or delivery of property more than 5 years after the holder filed a nonfraudulent report under section 2091 with the administrator. The parties may agree in a record to extend the limitation in this subsection. [PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]

3. Proceeding within 10 years after duty arose The administrator may not commence an action, proceeding or examination with respect to a duty of a holder under this Act more than 10 years after the duty arose.

[PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.