§2066. When stored-value obligation presumed abandoned

- **1. Presumed abandoned after 3 years.** Subject to section 2070, the net obligation value of a stored-value obligation is presumed abandoned on the latest of 3 years after:
 - A. December 31st of the year in which the obligation is issued or additional funds are deposited into it; [PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]
 - B. The most recent indication of interest in the obligation by the apparent owner; and [PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]
 - C. A verification or review of the balance by or on behalf of the apparent owner. [PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]

[PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]

- **2. Amount presumed abandoned.** The amount presumed abandoned in a stored-value obligation is the net obligation value at the time it is presumed abandoned. [PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]
- **3.** No period of limitation, limited charges or fees; exceptions, disclosure. Notwithstanding section 2112, fees, charges or a period of limitation may not be imposed on stored-value obligations, except that the issuer may charge a transaction fee for the initial issuance and for each occurrence of adding value to an existing stored-value obligation. These fees must be disclosed in a separate writing prior to the initial issuance or referenced on the stored-value obligation. Fee restrictions do not apply to any stored-value obligation that enables the holder to transfer the underlying funds to multiple unaffiliated merchants at the merchants' point-of-sale terminals or online or at an automated teller machine.

[PL 2021, c. 41, §1 (AMD).]

4. Redemption; balance in cash. If a stored-value obligation is redeemed in person and a balance of less than \$5 remains following redemption, at the consumer's request the merchant redeeming the stored-value obligation must refund the balance in cash to the consumer. This subsection does not apply to a stored-value obligation with an initial value of \$5 or less, or a stored-value obligation that is not purchased but provided as a promotion or as a refund for merchandise returned without a receipt. [PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW). PL 2021, c. 41, §1 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.