## §6100-BB. Criminal penalties

Criminal penalties for violations of this Act are governed by this section. [PL 2023, c. 662, §2 (NEW).]

- 1. False records. A person that intentionally makes a false statement, misrepresentation or false certification in a record filed or required to be maintained under this Act or that intentionally makes a false entry or omits a material entry in such a record is guilty of a Class D crime. [PL 2023, c. 662, §2 (NEW).]
- **2.** Unlicensed activity; no more than \$1,000 in compensation. A person that knowingly engages in an activity for which a license is required under this Act without being licensed under this Act and who receives no more than \$1,000 in compensation within a 30-day period from this activity is guilty of a Class D crime.

[PL 2023, c. 662, §2 (NEW).]

- **3.** Unlicensed activity; more than \$1,000 but no more than \$10,000 in compensation. A person that knowingly engages in an activity for which a license is required under this Act without being licensed under this Act and that receives more than \$1,000 but no more than \$10,000 in compensation within a 30-day period from this activity is guilty of a Class C crime. [PL 2023, c. 662, §2 (NEW).]
- **4.** Unlicensed activity; more than \$10,000 in compensation. A person that knowingly engages in an activity for which a license is required under this Act without being licensed under this Act and that receives more than \$10,000 in compensation within a 30-day period from this activity is guilty of a Class B crime.

[PL 2023, c. 662, §2 (NEW).]

**SECTION HISTORY** 

PL 2023, c. 662, §2 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.