§13762. Center to be licensed

- 1. License required. A rural health center that desires to contract for pharmaceutical services with a pharmacy shall submit an application together with the required fee as set under section 13724. The board may adopt rules that are no more restrictive than those regulating private pharmacy practice in the State. A rural health center is eligible for licensure under this subchapter if:
 - A. It serves a rural area without a pharmacy; [PL 1993, c. 716, §4 (NEW).]
 - B. It is located in a community where available pharmacy services can not meet the documented need; or [PL 1993, c. 716, §4 (NEW).]
 - C. It requires a license in order to receive pharmaceutical discounts authorized by the federal Veterans' Health Care Act of 1992, Title VI. [PL 1993, c. 716, §4 (NEW).]

[PL 2005, c. 262, Pt. B, §16 (AMD).]

2. Renewal. A license expires on the date set by the commissioner pursuant to Title 10, section 8003, subsection 4 for the licensing period for which the license was issued. A renewal license is issued for each ensuing licensing period in the absence of any reason or condition that might warrant the refusal to grant a license and upon receipt by the board of the written request of the applicant and the required fee for the license as set under section 13724.

Licenses may be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration upon payment of a late fee in addition to a renewal fee as set under section 13724. Any person who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after the license renewal date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants under this chapter, including a late fee, renewal fee and additional late fee as set under section 13724.

[PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. DD, §29 (AMD).]

3. Notice. Any rural health center wishing to be licensed under this subchapter shall notify the board of its intent to establish a contract with a pharmacy for pharmaceutical services and shall apply for a license, submit floor plans of the physical plant and pay a required fee as set under section 13724. The application must include the name, address and registration number of the provider of pharmaceutical services.

[PL 2005, c. 262, Pt. B, §18 (AMD).]

4. Board action. The board shall approve or disapprove of the application within 60 days of receipt and shall notify the applicant in writing of its decision and the reason for the decision. [PL 1987, c. 710, §5 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 710, §5 (NEW). PL 1993, c. 716, §4 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 262, §§B16-18 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. DD, §29 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.