§502. Transfer and return of registration; prorated registration fees

1. Transferring registration. A person who transfers the ownership or discontinues the use of a registered motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer and applies for registration of another motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer in the same registration year may use the same number plates on payment of a transfer fee of \$8, as long as the registration fee is the same as that of the former vehicle. If the fee for the vehicle to be registered is greater than the fee for the vehicle first registered, that person must also pay the difference.

[PL 2019, c. 352, §2 (AMD).]

2. Return of registration.

[PL 2009, c. 598, §2 (RP).]

3. Refunds; credits. No portion of a fee is refundable, but credits toward the registration of another vehicle may be given. On registration by an owner or owner's surviving spouse, a credit is allowed as follows.

A. For the first 8 months of a registration year, the full fee may be credited toward the registration of another vehicle. [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

B. For the last 4 months of a registration year, an amount not to exceed 1/2 of the original fee may be credited toward the registration of another vehicle. [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

[PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

4. Prorated fee. On any application for registration made during the last 4 months of a registration year, the registration fee is 1/2 the annual registration fee. [PL 1995, c. 482, Pt. B, §7 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1993, c. 683, §A2 (NEW). PL 1993, c. 683, §B5 (AFF). PL 1995, c. 482, §§B6,7 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 598, §2 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 67, §3 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 352, §2 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.