## §2303. School bus operator requirements

**1. Requirements.** Except as provided in subsection 6, the Secretary of State may not issue a school bus operator endorsement unless the applicant:

A. Holds a valid driver's license for operation of the class vehicle and has at least one year's experience as a licensed motor vehicle operator; [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

B. Is at least 21 years of age and has held a driver's license for at least one year; [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

C. [PL 2017, c. 229, §33 (RP).]

D. Is qualified as a driver under the motor carrier safety regulations of the Federal Highway Administration, if that person or that person's employer is subject to those regulations; [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

E. Passes an examination of the person's ability to operate the specific vehicle that will be driven as a school bus or a vehicle of comparable type; [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

F. Has not had a license revoked pursuant to chapter 23, subchapter V, within the preceding 6-year period; and [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

G. Has not received an OUI conviction, as defined in section 2401, subsection 9, within the preceding 10-year period. [PL 1995, c. 645, Pt. B, §17 (AMD).]
[PL 2017, c. 229, §33 (AMD).]

**2.** Current endorsement holders. The Secretary of State shall suspend or revoke a school operator's endorsement as provided in section 2452.

[PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

**3.** Annual physical. The applicant must pass an annual physical examination at the cost of the employer.

[PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

**4. Safety and driver training.** The Department of Education shall, within available resources, develop, certify and administer regional school bus driver training programs and assist school administrative units in school bus safety and driver training.

[PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

**5.** Fee. A fee of \$20 must accompany the initial application. The fee for a subsequent examination is \$20.

[PL 2017, c. 283, Pt. C, §4 (AMD); PL 2017, c. 283, Pt. C, §6 (AFF).]

6. Waiver of skill and road test. The Secretary of State may waive the skill and road tests for an applicant who has a valid authorization from another state to operate a school bus. The applicant for whom the skill and road tests are waived must comply with all other applicable state and federal requirements governing the issuance of school bus operator endorsements.

[PL 1995, c. 310, §2 (NEW).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 1993, c. 683, §A2 (NEW). PL 1993, c. 683, §B5 (AFF). PL 1995, c. 310, §§1,2 (AMD). PL 1995, c. 645, §B17 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 229, §33 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 283, Pt. C, §4 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 283, Pt. C, §6 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.