§4255. Coverage for hearing aids

(REALLOCATED FROM TITLE 24-A, SECTION 4253)

- 1. Hearing aid; definition. For purposes of this section, "hearing aid" means a nonexperimental, wearable instrument or device designed for the ear and offered for the purpose of aiding or compensating for impaired human hearing, excluding batteries and cords and other assistive listening devices, including, but not limited to, frequency modulation systems. [PL 2007, c. 695, Pt. A, §30 (RAL).]
- 2. Required coverage. All health maintenance organization individual and group health insurance contracts must provide coverage for the purchase of a hearing aid for each hearing-impaired ear for an individual covered under the policy, contract or certificate in accordance with the following requirements.
 - A. The hearing loss must be documented by a physician or audiologist licensed pursuant to Title 32, chapter 137. [PL 2015, c. 494, Pt. A, §30 (AMD).]
 - B. The hearing aid must be purchased in accordance with federal and state laws, regulations and rules for the sale and dispensing of hearing aids. [PL 2019, c. 418, §5 (AMD).]
 - C. The policy, contract or certificate may limit coverage to \$3,000 per hearing aid for each hearing-impaired ear every 36 months. [PL 2019, c. 418, §5 (AMD).]

[PL 2019, c. 418, §5 (AMD).]

3. Application of coverage.

[PL 2019, c. 418, §6 (RP).]

4. Limits; coinsurance; deductibles. Except as otherwise provided in this section, any contract that provides coverage for services under this section may contain provisions for maximum benefits and coinsurance and reasonable limitations, deductibles and exclusions to the extent that these provisions are not inconsistent with the requirements of this section.

[PL 2007, c. 695, Pt. A, §30 (RAL).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2007, c. 695, Pt. A, §30 (RAL). PL 2015, c. 494, Pt. A, §30 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 418, §§5, 6 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.