§3175-C. Delinquent hospital taxes to be withheld from Medicaid payments

When the commissioner receives written notice from the State Tax Assessor that a hospital is delinquent by more than 30 days in making a health care provider tax payment required by Title 36, section 2883 or chapter 377, the commissioner shall, upon 10 days' written notice, withhold the outstanding amount of tax, together with any applicable interest and penalties, from the hospital's Medicaid payments. All amounts withheld by the commissioner pursuant to this section are deemed to be health care provider tax payments by the hospital and must be transferred within 30 days to the State Tax Assessor, who shall apply the amount in question to the hospital's tax account. [PL 2003, c. 513, Pt. CC, §1 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2001, c. 714, §NN1 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 513, §CC1 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.