§9-205. Review

- 1. Judicial review required; 18 months. The court shall conduct a judicial review if:
- A. A child is not adopted within 18 months of the execution of a surrender and release; [PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]
- B. The adoption is not finalized within 18 months of the consent to an adoption by a parent or parents; or [PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]
- C. A petition for adoption is not finalized within 18 months. [PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

2. Determination whether adoption viable plan; review; plan; District Court. If, after judicial review under subsection 1, the court determines that adoption is still a viable plan for the child, the court shall schedule another judicial review within 2 years. If the court determines that adoption is no longer a viable plan, the court shall attempt to notify the parents, who must be given an opportunity to present an acceptable plan for the child. If either or both parents are able and willing to assume physical custody of the child, the court shall declare the surrender and release or the consent void.

If the parents are not notified or are unable or unwilling to assume physical custody of the child or if the court determines that placement of the child with the parents would constitute jeopardy as defined by Title 22, section 4002, subsection 6, the case must be transferred to the District Court for a hearing pursuant to Title 22, section 4038-A.

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW). PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. F, §1 (AFF). PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.