§9-102. Definitions

As used in this Article, unless the context otherwise indicates, the following terms have the following meanings. [PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

1. Adoptee. "Adoptee" means a person who will be or who has been adopted, regardless of whether the person is a child or an adult.

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

- **2. Adult.** "Adult" means a person who is 18 years of age or older. [PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]
- **3.** Child. "Child" means a person who is under 18 years of age. [PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]
- **4.** Consent. "Consent," used as a noun, means a voluntary agreement to an adoption by a specific petitioner that is executed by a parent or custodian of the adoptee. [PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]
- **5. Department.** "Department" means the Department of Health and Human Services. [PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]
- **6.** Licensed child-placing agency. "Licensed child-placing agency" means an agency, person, group of persons, organization, association or society licensed to operate in this State pursuant to Title 22, chapter 1671.

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

- 7. Parent. "Parent" means a person who, with respect to a child:
- A. Has established parentage pursuant to Title 19-A, chapter 61; or [PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]
- B. When no person described in paragraph A exists, is the legal guardian of the child. [PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]
 [PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]
- **8. Petitioner.** "Petitioner" means a person filing a petition to adopt an adult or a child, and includes both petitioners under a joint petition, except as otherwise provided in this Article.

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

9. Putative parent. "Putative parent" means a person who is the alleged parent of a child but whose parentage has not been but may be legally determined in accordance with Title 19-A, chapter 61.

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

10. Surrender and release. "Surrender and release," used as a noun, means a voluntary relinquishment of all parental rights to a child to the department or a licensed child-placing agency for the purpose of placement for adoption.

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW). PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. F, §1 (AFF). PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is

Generated 10.01.2024 §9-102. Definitions 1

subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.