## §8-113. Termination of receivership

If at the expiration of 8 years after the date of the disappearance or absconding found by the court under section 8-105, the absentee's property has not been accounted for, delivered or paid over under section 8-112, the court shall order distribution of the remainder to the persons to whom, and in the shares and proportions in which, the absentee's property would have been distributed if the absentee had died intestate within the State on the day 8 years after the date of the disappearance or absconding. The receiver shall deduct from the share of each distributee and pay to the State Tax Assessor the amount each distributee would have paid in an inheritance tax to the State if the distributee had received the property by inheritance from a deceased resident of the State. [PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW). PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. F, §1 (AFF). PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.