§5-427. Death of individual subject to conservatorship

1. Delivery of will. If an individual subject to conservatorship dies, the conservator shall deliver to the court for safekeeping any will of the individual in the conservator's possession and inform the personal representative named in the will if feasible, or if not feasible a beneficiary named in the will, of the delivery.

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

2. Powers and duties of personal representative; notice. If 40 days after the death of an individual subject to conservatorship no personal representative has been appointed and an application or petition for appointment is not before the court, the conservator may apply to exercise the powers and duties of a personal representative to administer and distribute the decedent's estate. The conservator shall give notice to a person nominated as personal representative by a will of the decedent of which the conservator is aware and to all of the decedent's heirs and all devisees of the will, if any. The court may grant the application if there is no objection and endorse the letters of office to note that the individual formerly subject to conservatorship is deceased and the conservator has acquired the powers and duties of a personal representative.

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

3. Effect of appointment as personal representative. Issuance of an order under this section has the effect of an order of appointment of a personal representative under section 3-308 and Article 3, Parts 6 to 10.

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

4. Distribution; discharge. On the death of an individual subject to conservatorship, the conservator shall conclude the administration of the conservatorship estate by distributing property subject to conservatorship to the individual's successors. Not later than 30 days after distribution, the conservator shall file a final report and petition for discharge.

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW). PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. F, §1 (AFF). PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.