§5-126. Grievance against guardian or conservator

1. File a grievance with the court. An individual who is subject to guardianship or conservatorship, or a person interested in the welfare of an individual subject to guardianship or conservatorship, who reasonably believes a guardian or conservator is breaching the guardian's or conservator's fiduciary duty or otherwise acting in a manner inconsistent with this Act may file a grievance with the court. The grievance must be in writing or another record.

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

2. Procedure upon receiving grievance. Subject to subsection 3, after receiving a grievance under subsection 1, the court:

A. Shall review the grievance and, if necessary to determine the appropriate response to the grievance, court records related to the guardianship or conservatorship; [PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

B. Shall schedule a hearing if the individual subject to guardianship or conservatorship is an adult and the grievance supports a reasonable belief that:

(1) Removal of the guardian and appointment of a successor may be appropriate in accordance with section 5-318;

(2) Termination or modification of the guardianship may be appropriate under section 5-319;

(3) Removal of the conservator and appointment of a successor may be appropriate under section 5-430;

(4) Termination or modification of the conservatorship may be appropriate under section 5-431; and [PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

C. May take any action supported by the grievance and record, including:

(1) Ordering the guardian or conservator to provide to the court a report, accounting, inventory, updated plan or other information;

(2) Appointing a guardian ad litem;

(3) Appointing an attorney for the individual subject to guardianship or conservatorship; or

(4) Scheduling a hearing. [PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

3. Similar grievance filed within 6 months. The court may decline to proceed under subsection 2 if a similar grievance was made within the preceding 6 months and the court followed the procedures of subsection 2 in considering the grievance.

[PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. A, §2 (NEW). PL 2017, c. 402, Pt. F, §1 (AFF). PL 2019, c. 417, Pt. B, §14 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is

subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.